
Ala. Code 1975, § 15-20A-9 
 

Failing to Provide Registration Information Prior to Release 
(Adult) 

 
The defendant is charged with failing to provide registration information prior to 

release or immediately upon conviction if not incarcerated.   
 
A person commits the crime of failing to provide registration information prior to 

release or immediately upon conviction if not incarcerated if he/she is an adult sex 
offender and fails to provide to the responsible agency, the required registration 
information and any other information deemed necessary by the Director of the 
Department of Public Safety pursuant to Section 15-20A-7 of the Code of Alabama at 
least 30 days prior to release, or immediately upon notice of release if release is less than 
30 days, from the county jail, municipal jail, Department of Corrections, or any other facility 
that has incarcerated the adult sex offender, or immediately upon conviction, if the adult 
sex offender is not incarcerated.  

 
To convict, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt each of the following 

elements: 
 

(1) The defendant was a sex offender;  
 

(2) The defendant, at least 30 days prior to release, or immediately upon notice 
of release if release is less than 30 days, from the county jail, municipal jail, 
Department of Corrections, or any other facility that has incarcerated the 
adult sex offender, or immediately upon conviction, if the adult sex offender 
is not incarcerated, failed to provide the responsible agency, the following 
required registration information: 
 
[Read all appropriate]: 

 
a. Name, including any aliases, nicknames, ethnic, or tribal names;  
b. Date of birth;  
c. Social Security number;  
d. Address of each residence; 
e. Name and address of any school he/she attends or will attend; 
f. Name and address of any employer where he/she works or will work, 

including any transient or day laborer information; 
g. The license plate number, registration number or identifier, 

description, and permanent or frequent location where all vehicles 
are kept for any vehicle used for work or personal use, including land 
vehicles, aircraft, and watercraft; 

h. Any telephone number used, including land line and cell phone 
numbers; 



i. Any email addresses or instant message address or identifiers used, 
including any designations or monikers used for self-identification in 
Internet communications or postings; 

j. A current photograph; 
k. A physical description including physical appearance, physical 

characteristics, and identifying marks such as scars and tattoos; 
l. Fingerprints and palm prints; 
m. A DNA sample; 
n. A photocopy of the valid driver license or identification card; 
o. A photocopy of any and all passport and immigration documents; 
p. Any professional licensing information that authorizes him/her to 

engage in an occupation or carry out a trade or business; 
q. A full criminal history, including dates of all arrests and convictions, 

status of parole, probation, or supervised release, registration status, 
and outstanding arrest warrants; 

r. A list of any and all Internet service providers used by the sex 
offender; (OR) 

s. Any other information deemed necessary by the Secretary of the 
Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency; (AND) 

 
(3) The defendant did so knowingly.  

 
An adult sex offender is a person convicted of a sex offense. [15-20A-4(1)] 
 
A sex offense includes any of the following offenses: [Insert all appropriate from 

15-20A-5]. 
 
A conviction is a verdict or finding of guilt as the result of a trial, a plea of guilty, a 

plea of nolo contendere, or an Alford plea regardless of whether adjudication was 
withheld. Conviction includes, but is not limited to, a conviction in a United States territory, 
a conviction in a federal or military tribunal, including a court martial conducted by the 
Armed Forces of the United States, a conviction for an offense committed on an Indian 
reservation or other federal property, a conviction in any state of the United States or a 
conviction in a foreign country if the foreign country's judicial system is such that it 
satisfies minimum due process set forth in the guidelines under Section 111(5)(B) of 
Public Law 109-248. Cases on appeal are deemed convictions until reversed or 
overturned. [15-20A-4(4)] 

  
Release means release from a state prison, county jail, municipal jail, mental 

health facility, release or discharge from the custody of the Department of Youth Services 
or other juvenile detention, or placement on an appeal bond, probation, parole, or 
aftercare, placement into any facility or treatment program that allows the sex offender to 
have unsupervised access to the public, or release from any other facility, custodial or 
noncustodial, where the sex offender is sentenced or made a ward of that facility by a 
circuit, district, or juvenile judge. [15-20A-4(18)] 

 



Immediately is within three business days. [15-20A-4(10)] 
 
Responsible Agency is the person or government entity whose duty it is to obtain 

information from a sex offender and to transmit that information to the Alabama State Law 
Enforcement Agency, police departments, and sheriffs. For a sex offender being released 
from state prison, the responsible agency is the Department of Corrections. For a sex 
offender being released from a county jail, the responsible agency is the sheriff of that 
county. For a sex offender being released from a municipal jail, the responsible agency 
is the chief of police of that municipality. For a sex offender being placed on probation, 
including conditional discharge or unconditional discharge, without any sentence of 
incarceration, the responsible agency is the sentencing court or designee of the 
sentencing court. For a juvenile sex offender being released from the Department of 
Youth Services, the responsible agency is the Department of Youth Services. For a sex 
offender who is being released from a jurisdiction outside this state and who is to reside 
in this state, the responsible agency is the sheriff of the county in which the offender 
intends to establish a residence. [15-20A-4(21)] 

 
Required registration information is any information required pursuant to 15-20A-

7. [15-20A-4(19)]  
 
[Read as appropriate]: A residence is each fixed residence or other place where 

a person resides, sleeps, or habitually lives or will reside, sleep, or habitually live. If a 
person does not reside, sleep, or habitually live in a fixed residence, residence means a 
description of the locations where the person is stationed regularly, day or night, including 
any mobile or transitory living quarters or locations that have no specific mailing or street 
address. Residence shall be construed to refer to the places where a person resides, 
sleeps, habitually lives, or is stationed with regularity, regardless of whether the person 
declares or characterizes such place as a residence. [15-20A-4(20)] 

 
A fixed residence is a building or structure, having a physical address or street 

number, that adequately provides shelter at which a person resides. [15-20A-4(6)] 
 
Habitually lives is where a person lives with some regularity on an intermittent or 

temporary basis. [15-20A-4(7)] 
 
[Read as appropriate]: A school includes an educational institution, public or 

private, including a secondary school, a trade or professional school, or an institution of 
higher education. (15-20A-7(a)(5)) 

 
[Read as appropriate]: Employment is full-time, part-time, self-employment, or 

employment as an independent contractor or day laborer for any period, whether 
financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose of government or educational 
benefit. [15-20A-4(5)] 

 



A person acts knowingly with respect to conduct or to a circumstance described 
by a statute defining an offense he/she is aware that his/her conduct is of that nature or 
that the circumstance exits. [13A-2-2(2)] 

 
If you find from the evidence that the State has proved beyond a reasonable doubt 

each of the elements of the offense, then you shall find the defendant guilty of this offense.  
 
If you find that the State has failed to prove beyond a reasonable doubt any one 

or more of the elements of the offense, then you cannot find the defendant guilty of this 
offense.  

 
Use Notes 

 
See 15-20A-35 for treatment of youthful offender. 

 
 
[Approved 9-8-15.] 
 


