
RULES FOR MANDATORY CONTINUING JUDICIAL EDUCATION 
 

VII.  PROBATE JUDGES 
 
RULE 1. ORGANIZATION AND  ADMINISTRATION  
 
 Notwithstanding anything in Section I, General Provisions, to the contrary, at the 
request of the Alabama Probate Judges Association ("the APJA") the Alabama Law 
Institute ("the ALI") agrees to administer the program of mandatory continuing judicial 
education in conjunction with the APJA.  The ALI shall establish policies and procedures 
for the implementation of the minimum judicial educational requirements established 
herein. These policies and procedures shall apply to all elected and appointed probate 
judges in the State of Alabama.  
 
 (a) The ALI Director shall serve as administrator of the continuing-judicial-
education program for probate judges.  
 
 (b) The ALI and the APJA shall monitor and evaluate the quality of 
educational programs and make changes when appropriate within the approved 
guidelines for attendance and accreditation.  
 
RULE 2.  REQUIRED CONTINUING JUDICIAL EDUCATION  
 
 (a) All Alabama probate judges shall attend a designated orientation program 
for new probate judges of at least 6 hours during their first 12 months in office. 
 
 (b) All probate judges shall, after their first year in office, earn a minimum of 
12 approved judicial-education credits in each calendar year.  Judicial-education credits 
shall be earned by attending conferences or courses approved by or offered through the 
ALI, the APJA, and the National Probate Judges Association ("the NPJA").  Each 
calendar year, all probate judges must earn a minimum of six judicial-education credits 
at courses offered by the ALI. 
 
 (c) When a probate judge earns more than 12 judicial-education credits in a 
year, a maximum of 8 of those credits may be carried forward and applied toward that 
probate judge’s judicial-education requirements for the following year. 
 
 (d) The executive committee of the APJA may grant extensions of time to 
complete judicial-education requirements for good cause shown.  A letter requesting 
such an extension must be submitted to the president of the APJA with a corrective-
action plan to make up the deficient credits within 30 days following the end of the 
calendar year for which an extension is sought. 
 
RULE 3.  REQUIREMENTS FOR PROGRAM OR COURSE APPROVAL  
 



 (a) The courses conducted by the ALI, the APJA, or the NPJA are approved 
for judicial credit. 
 
 The education course, program, or activity must be: 
 
 (1) An organized program of learning, including one or more lectures, 

workshops, presentations, courses, or symposiums that are designed to 
contribute to the professional competency of probate judicial officials; 

 
 (2) Related to the administration of justice, the substantive or procedural law 

of this state, the administrative functions and/or duties of probate judges, 
or the professional or ethical obligations of probate judges; 

 
 (3) Conducted or taught by persons who have appropriate academic or 

practical skills necessary to conduct the course effectively and who have 
special education, training, or experience in the matters being taught; 

 
 (4) Accompanied by the distribution to the attendees of written materials that 

address the administration of justice, the substantive or procedural law of 
the state, or the professional or ethical obligations of probate judges, the 
quality and quantity of which materials indicate that adequate time and 
care has been devoted to their preparation and that these materials will be 
of value to the attendees in performing their duties as probate judges. 

 
RULE 4.  CREDITS FOR PARTICIPATION 
 
 (a) Probate judges are exempt from fulfilling the mandatory judicial-education 
requirement until the end of their first full calendar year of employment.  However, an 
orientation program for new probate judges must be completed by all new probate 
judges within their first calendar year of office. 
 
 (b) Upon application, the ALI may award no more than eight credits annually 
to a judge for serving as a faculty member at any approved program.  Each teaching 
hour is equal to three credits. 
  
RULE 5.  SANCTION FOR FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH MANDATORY EDUCATION RULES 
 
 (a) Probate judges shall report their attendance and participation in judicial-
education programs on an ALI Course Form that has been approved by the ALI. 
 
 (b) In the event a probate judge fails to comply with these Rules, the ALI 
director shall promptly notify the probate judge of the noncompliance by sending a 
notice thereof to the probate judge at his or her principal office with a copy to the 
president of the APJA.  The statement of noncompliance shall advise the probate judge 
that within 30 days he or she must submit a plan to correct the noncompliance to the 
president of the APJA for consideration and approval by the executive committee of the 



APJA.   If a probate judge fails to comply with these Rules and fails to correct the 
noncompliance within the approved period, the sanction for such noncompliance of 
these Rules shall be for the ALI to report the noncompliance to the president of the 
APJA for notification to the APJA and to make the fact of the noncompliance open for 
public view and inspection.   
 
 (c) Probate judges' education files and records, maintained by the ALI, shall 
be confidential and not be disclosed except in compliance to this rule or upon request  
of the affected probate judge. 
 
[Amended 11-18-2010, eff. 1-11-2011.] 
 

Note from the reporter of decisions: The order adopting Section VII of the 
Rules for Mandatory Continuing Judicial Education, effective January 1, 2011, is 
published in that volume of the Alabama Reporter that contains Alabama cases from      
So. 3d. 

 


