
Rules Governing Admission to the Alabama State Bar 
 
 

Rule I. 
 

Registration of Intent to Apply for Admission to the Alabama State Bar. 
 
A. Registration of Law Students and Others Seeking Admission to the 

Alabama State Bar. Every person seeking to apply for admission to the Alabama State 
Bar shall, within 60 days following the commencement of the study of law in an 
accredited law school or in one of the unaccredited law schools located in the State of 
Alabama, register with the Secretary ("the Secretary") of the Board of Commissioners of 
the Alabama State Bar ("the Board" or "the Board of Commissioners") by completing 
and filing the registration form supplied by the Board and such other papers as may 
from time to time be reasonably required by the Board. No fee shall be required if the 
registration form is filed within the first 60 days following the commencement of the 
study of law. If, however, the registration form is filed after 60 days, such form shall be 
accompanied by an appropriate fee of: 

 
(1) $50.00 if filed after 60 days but on or before the 180th day; 
 
(2) $100.00 if filed after 180 days but on or before the 390th day 

(3) $250.00 if filed after 390 days. 

The deadline date for filing the registration form shall be determined using the official 
date for the commencement of study announced by the registrant's law school. The 
registrant shall be responsible for submitting, as a part of the registration form, certified 
verification of that date upon the form supplied by the Board. 

 
B. Committee on Character and Fitness. The Committee on Character and 

Fitness ("the Committee")(see Rule V) shall promptly conduct an initial review of the 
registration form for matters bearing on the registrant's character and fitness, including, 
but not limited to, alcohol or drug addiction or abuse, criminal history, and mental-health 
issues. Thereafter, the Committee shall conduct an investigation or otherwise inquire 
into and determine the qualifications, character, and fitness of every registrant who 
applies for admission to practice law in the State of Alabama and may request the 
personal appearance of any registrant at such reasonable time and place as the 
Committee may prescribe.  

 
If the Committee, during the course of an investigation of the registrant, 

concludes that a complete set of his or her fingerprints would be of substantial 
assistance in the investigation, the Committee may direct the registrant to submit a 
complete set of his or her fingerprints. The failure of the registrant to submit, upon 
request, a complete set of his or her fingerprints, to fully and accurately comply with any 



reasonable request to produce documents or to appear personally before the 
Committee, or to fully and accurately provide such other information as reasonably may 
be requested by the Committee shall be a sufficient ground to deny approval of the 
registration. 

If the Committee is reasonably satisfied that the registrant possesses good moral 
character, has completed the prelegal education required by these Rules (see Rule IV.A 
and B), and is fit to practice law in the State of Alabama in all other respects, it shall 
approve the registration, and the Secretary shall thereupon issue to the registrant a 
certificate of registration and cause a record thereof to be kept in the Secretary's office. 
If the registrant is found deficient in any of the aforementioned qualifications, the 
certificate of registration shall not be issued until and unless the Committee is satisfied 
that the registrant has overcome the deficiency. 

A majority of the Committee may at any time and place, if in meeting assembled, 
act for the Committee, with the power of examination herein granted the Committee, 
regardless of when the registration form was filed with the Secretary. 

In cases where a registrant does not file the registration form within 390 days 
following the commencement of the study of law and the degree of investigation 
required makes immediate review or resolution of the registration impractical, the 
Committee may in its discretion defer its review and investigation of the registration to 
allow a reasonable opportunity to thoroughly investigate the registrant's character and 
fitness. 

From a ruling of the Committee declining to approve the application for 
registration, an appeal shall lie to the Disciplinary Board of the Alabama State Bar 
(which, when acting in such capacity, shall be referred to as the "Character and Fitness 
Appeal Board"), if notice of appeal is filed with the Secretary and a copy of the notice is 
also filed with the Disciplinary Clerk of the Alabama State Bar within 30 days after the 
applicant has been notified of the action of the Committee. Such appeal shall be heard, 
de novo, within 30 days after the filing of the notice of appeal or at such time as agreed 
upon by stipulation between the appellant and the General Counsel of the Alabama 
State Bar. 

 
C. Registration Not an Application for Admission. The registration form 

executed by a registrant shall not be deemed an application for admission to the 
Alabama State Bar. 
 
 
[Amended eff. 8-8-2008; Amended eff. 1-11-2013. 
 



Note from the reporter of decisions: The order amending Rule I, Rules 
Governing Admission to the Alabama State Bar, effective August 8, 2008, is published 
in that volume of Alabama Reporter that contains Alabama cases from 993 So.2d. 

 
Note from the reporter of decisions: The order amending the Rules Governing 

Admission to the Alabama State Bar is published in that volume of Alabama Reporter 
that contains Alabama cases from        So. 3d. 

 
 


