
Rules for Mandatory Continuing Legal Education 
 

Rule 3.  
 

CLE Requirement. 
 

Each attorney subject to these rules shall complete a minimum of 12 hours of 
approved continuing legal education ("CLE") annually, 1 hour of which shall be on the 
subject of ethics or professionalism. 

This requirement may be satisfied either by attendance at an ASB-approved 
course or by completion of any other ASB-approved CLE activity. 

 
[Adopted 3-20-1981; Amended 2-22-1983; Amended eff. 1-9-2004; Amended 2-26-
2012, eff. 1-1-2013.] 
 

REGULATIONS 
 

3.1.  A minimum of 6 credit hours of the 12 credit hours required annually must be 
earned through attendance at live ASB-approved programs. 

3.2.  This requirement may be satisfied through teaching an approved CLE activity.  
Presentations supported by thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared 
written materials qualify for MCLE credit on the basis of six credits for each hour of 
presentation.  Presentations accompanied by brief outlines, or not accompanied by 
substantial written materials, shall not satisfy this requirement.  When a presentation is 
made by a panel, the credit will be divided equally among the panel members, unless 
the MCLE Commission is advised otherwise. 

3.3.  Repeat presentations shall satisfy this requirement to the extent of one-half the 
credits available for an initial presentation, provided each lawyer shall receive at least 
one credit for each hour of individual presentation or service on a panel. 

3.4.  This requirement may be satisfied through teaching a course in an ABA- or 
AALS-approved law school or any other law school approved by the MCLE Commission.  
The MCLE Commission will award six hours of MCLE credit for each hour of academic 
credit awarded by the law school for the course.  For purposes of these rules, Miles 
College of Law and Birmingham School of Law are considered approved schools. 

3.5.  This requirement may be satisfied by authoring a significant research article that 
is accepted for publication in a national law journal.  Whether an article is significant will 
be determined by the executive director.  The MCLE Commission will award 12 hours of 
MCLE credit upon publication of the article. 



3.6. This requirement may be satisfied through service as a bar examiner in Alabama 
or in any sister state.  The MCLE Commission shall award 12 hours of MCLE credit 
annually for such service during a given year. 

3.7.  This requirement may be satisfied through formal enrollment and education of a 
postgraduate nature, either for credit or by audit, in an accredited law school.  The 
MCLE Commission will award one credit for each credit hour so earned. 

3.8.  The MCLE Commission shall award two hours of MCLE credit to attorneys who 
attend the annual business meeting of the ASB. 

 
 

Note from the reporter of decisions: The order adopting Regulation 2.7 to Rule 
2 and amending Rule 2.C.2., Rule 3, Rule 5.B., Rule 6.A., and Rule 6.B., effective 
January 9, 2004, is published in that volume of Alabama Reporter that contains 
Alabama cases from 862 So.2d. 

 
Note from the reporter of decisions: The order amending the Alabama State 

Bar Rules for Mandatory Continuing Legal Education is published in that volume of 
Alabama Reporter that contains Alabama cases from     So. 3d    . 
 
 


