IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
July 13, 2012

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that Appendix B to Rule 20, Alabama Rules
of Judicial Administration, "Supreme Court's Extended Schedule
of Fines," is amended to read in accordance with the appendix
to this order;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this amendment be effective
immediately;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following note from the
reporter of decisions be added to follow Appendix B to Rule
20:

"Note from the reporter of decisions: The order
amending Appendix B to Rule 20, effective July 13,
2012, is published in that volume of Alabama
Reporter that contains Alabama cases from _ So.
3d4."

Malone, C.J., and Woodall, Stuart, Bolin, Parker,
Murdock, Shaw, and Main, JJ., concur.

Wise, J., recuses herself.

I Robert G. Esdale, Sr., as Clerk of the Supreme Court
of Alabama, do hereby certify that the foregoing is
a fuil, true and correct copy of the instrument(s)
herewith set out as same appear(s) of record in said

Court.
* Witness my hand this 139 day o@ﬁh‘_.. 2012
Srtens bEutate;

Clerk, Supreme Court of Alabama



APPENDIX

APPENDIX B
(to Rule 20)

SUPREME COURT'S EXTENDED SCHEDULE OF FINES

CONSERVATION-- Offense Scheduled Fine
Game & Fish:

Code Section or
Regulation No.:

9-1-1 Making false statement to obtain license $250
9-1-3 Lending, borrowing, or selling license $250
9-11-22 Failure to tag commercial fishing gear $250
9-11-25 Unlawful to borrow, lend, or alter a license or

for issuing agent to backdate a license $250
9-11-44 Hunting without a license $100
9-11-44.1(a) Obtaining hunting license without presenting

proof of hunter education $100
9-11-44.1(b) Issuing license without proof of hunter-education

certification $100
9~-11-44.1(c) Hunting with lifetime license without completing

hunter-education-certification program $100
9-11-44.1(d) Fraudulently issuing or obtaining hunter-education

certification $100
9-11-44.1(e) Failure to surrender revoked or canceled

hunter-education certification $100
9-11-44.1(h) Hunting without supervision $100
9-11-45(e) Hunting or using shooting range without wildlife-

management-area license! $25
9-11~45 (e) Hunting on state-operated wildlife- $25 (residents)

management areas without special annual



management-area

license

Not less than 3
times the cost
of license

Hunting without a

(nonresidents)
license (resident) $75
(resident)-- all game $100
(resident)-- small game $75

Hunting without a license (nonresident) -- all game $825

Hunting without a license (nonresident) -- small game $270

Lending or transferring hunting license

to another

Hunting without a

license (nonresident)?

Not less than 3
times the cost
of the
nonresident
license

Fishing without a
16-65)

license (resident-~ages

Borrowing, lending,
a license

altering, or backdating

Fishing without saltwater license

(rod and reel)

(nonresident)

Fishing without a
years of age or

license (nonresident, 16
older, annual)

Fishing without a
years of age or

license (nonresident, 16
older, trip)

Fishing without a
license

Operating a fishing pier without a license
as required by Section 9-11-56.3(a)



9-11-63 Operating as fur dealer without a license $500

9-11-80 Crossing posted lands without permission to fish $100
9-11-84 Selling game fish taken from public waters $500
9~11-87 Taking game fish by means other than hook $100

and line, etc.

9-11-91(a) Fishing without a permit in a private pond $250
(ordinary fishing tackle)

9-11-91 (a) Taking fish from private ponds, without a $250
permit, by traps, hook and line, or rod
and reel

9-11-93 Taking fish from public waters by poisons $500

or explosives

9-11-94 Taking of fish by means not expressly allowed

(stun devices, etc.) $500
9-11-142 Commercial fishing without a license $250
9-11-147 Failing to mark or identify commercial fishing gear $250
9-11-148 Possession of game fish by commercial fishermen $250
9-11-149 Using commercial fishing gear within 1/2 mile

below a dam $100
9-11-153 Selling nongame fish without wholesale/retail

fish dealers' license $100
9-11-154 Failure of fish dealer to maintain records or to

allow inspection of records $100
9-11-171 Spearing of commercial or nongame fish $50

without license



9-11-232

Possession, sale, purchase, etc., of
protected wild birds, their eggs,
plumage, or any body part

Selling, buying, or offering to sell any
part of game bird or animal without
license

Hunting/trapping without a permit
(nighttime)

$1,000 (1=t
Offense)

Hunting by aid of bait (deer and wild
turkey)

Hunting by aid of bait (small game)

Using unlawful methods of hunting
(snare, poison, etc.)

Taking deer at night

9-11-254

Exceeding limit of traps for one day for
fur-bearing animals

Failing to check traps within time limit;
suspending bait over or within 25 feet
of a steel trap



9-11-432 Waterfowl hunting without a state license $50

9-12-203 Alligator farming without a license $250
220-2-,01 Hunting not in accordance with stated times,
places, manners, and means $100
220-2-.01 Running dogs during and in area of spring $100
turkey season
220-2-.01(1) (a) Running deer with dogs during $200
stalk-hunting-only season
220-2-.02 Using illegal firearms or ammunition for $50
hunting
220-2-.02(1) (a) Using prohibited method/possessing prohibited
firearm/ammunition $50
220-2~.02(1) (b) Refusal to submit firearm for inspection $50

220-2-.02(1) (C) Using illegal firearms or bow for hunting

(light source attached) $50
220-2-.02(1) (d) Possessing night-vision equipment while hunting $150
220~2-.02(4) Hunting migratory game birds with $50

unplugged guns

220-2-.03 Archery hunting with prohibited equipment $50
220-2-.05 Hunting game birds outside legal hours . _flOO
220-2-.07 Hunting game animals outside legal hours . B _flOO
220-2-.08 Running deer dogs during closed season $100
i rossession of Hireams uhilebowmuncing e
220-2-.11 Hf?Eing_by pfohibited mean _______________ f%??__—
220-2-.11(5) Using or possessing illegal decoy while $100

turkey hunting



220-2-.12 Refusing to allow inspection of hunting $250
coat, game bag, etc.

220-2-.14 Taking unantlered deer $100
220-2-.15 Destroying sex of deer or wild turkey 5200
220-2-.18 Exceeding or attempting to exceed the bag
limit (big game)? $100
220-2-.18 Exceeding or attempting to exceed the bag
limit (small game)? $100
220-2-.21 Unauthorized possession of bow, arrow, or $50
firearm
220-2-.23 Hunting, trapping, or fishing without a license
in possession $50
220-2-.24 Illegal possession of carcass/hides $100
220-2-.26 Illegal possession, sale, or importation of
certain animals and fish $250
220-2-.29 Trapping in closed season $250
220-2-.30 Fur-catcher vioclations $50
220-2-.31 Hanging or suspending bait over or within $50

25 feet of steel trap

220-2~.35 Possession of over the legal creel limit $50
220~-2-.36 Violating public-fishing-lake regulation $50
220-2-.36(2) Taking fish from public lakes without $25

permit



220-2-.36(3) Leaving child under 12 years of age $25
unattended at state fishing lake

220-2-.37 Violating public-access-area regulation $50
220-2-.38 Taking suckers by prohibited means, methods,

and areas $100
229-2— 44 B ) Taking fish by prohibited means $200
229-2—.44(1) Taking fish by prohibited methods (drag nets) $200
220-2-.44(2) Taking fish by prohibited methods (firearms) $100
220~2-.44(3) Taking fish by prohibited methods (use of seine) $200
220-2-.44(4) Taking fish by prohibited methods

(trotline, box, etc., within 1/2 mile below a dam) $100

220-2-.44(5) Taking fish by prohibited methods

(removing fish from box, etc., at night) $250
220~-2-.44(6) Taking fish by prohibited methods

(fishing from private property without a permit) $100
220-2-.44(7) Taking fish by prohibited means

(slat box without tags) $250
220-2-.44(8) Taking fish by prohibited methods

(trotlines/cotton ends) $50
220-2-.44(9) Taking fish by prohibited methods

(fileting fish while fishing or processing filets

while on public water) $50
220-2-.46(1) Violating legal methods for taking nongame fish

(sport fishing) 3100
220-2-.46(2) Violating legal methods for taking nongame fish

(commercial) $250
220-2-.46(3) Violating legal methods for taking nongame fish

(wire basket) $100



220-2-.47 Viclating commercial-fishing regulation $250

220-2-.48 I[llegal method/equipment in mussel harvest %{T{_
220-2-.49 Possession of undersized mussels $250
22?—2—.?0 Mussel fishing at night i . $250
220—2-.?1 Mussel fishing other than Monday through Friday $250
220-2-.52 Restricted areas to mussel fishing $250
229:%—.?? i Violating wildlife—management—éf?a %?gulations $50
220~2-.55(1) (a) Hunting, etc., on management area without $25
permit
220-2-.55(1) (h) Possession of loaded firearm in vehicle $25

while on management area

220-2-.56 Violating wildlife-management-area hunting-

season dates $50
220-2-.60 Using airboat in prohibited area $50
220-2-.77 Violating waterfowl seasons, methods, and times $100
220-2-.85 Failure to wear hunter orange $50
220-2-.86 Transporting or releasing feral swine

without a permit $250
220-2-.92 Possessing, etc., nongame species $250
220-2-.92(2) Possessing, etc., nongame species

(collect/sell box turtle) $100

220-2-.92(3) Possessing, etc., nongame species

{(common snapper turtle, etc., size limit) $100

220-2-.92(4) Possessing, etc., nongame species

(possession limit of 10 turtles per day) $250



220-2-.93 Illegal importation/possession of rudd and

roach fish $250
220~-2-.94 Taking or possessing paddlefish $250
220-2-.95 Feeding, enticing, or violating nuisance-

control regulation $100
229:2—_96(1)(d) Violating alligator-farming regulation—importéfio?_ $2%?
%29:%—_?3 ) ) Alligator protection regulation $250
2202798 | Iovertabrate spectas reguiacion I
229—2— 103 Mussel fishing in closed waters $250
229:2— 306 . Mussel fishing in closed season $250
220-2-.109 Physically disabled wildlife-management-area-
A O =0
229—2- 112 (a) Releasing dog without landowner's permission $250
%%9:%:_}}%(?1 . Using deer d?? without collar $100
220-2-.115 Snagging fish on the Tennessee River $100
220-2-.118 flunting without HIP permit after warning —  § $5q_
220-2-.130(a) Using prohibited commercial gear in specific advisory

areas or selling fish taken fronif%fﬁlfffffi_________ffTTL_
220727 131 [ Dnlawiul activity on vourhturkeyThumtIng Area ] 0
220-2~-.134 Hunting on state park without a valid E?rTiF __________ %iggm
220-2-.138 Unlawful activity by licensed gamebreeder $250



220-2-.142 Violating commercial turtle catcher/dealer/farmer

regulations $250
220-2-.143 Alligator-hunting violations (season, times,
firearms, methods, etc.) $250
220-2-.146 Violating harvest record regulation $50
MARINE SAFETY: : Offense Scheduled
Code Section or Fine
Regulation No.:
33-5-9 Operating vessel without current registration $50
displayed
33-5-11 Failing to have registration certificate on board $50
33-5-22(a) Operating vessel with improper or no safety $50

devices or lights

33-5-22{(d) Skin divers; no diver flag $25
33-5-23(a) Operating vessel with improper muffler $50
33-5-26(a) Towing person on skis, etc., without observer $100

at least 12 years of age or without a
rearview mirror with a minimum of 78 square
inches of viewing surface

33-5-26(b) Towing person on skis, etc., between hours of $100
from one hour after sunset to one hour before
sunrise

33-5-26(d) Towing person on skis, etc., so as to cause $100

person to collide with or strike against any
object or person
33-5-51(b) Failure to wear personal flotation device while $25
operating, riding on, or being towed by
personal watercraft

33-5-51(c) Failure to have engine cut-off switch lanyard $25
attached to operator of personal watercraft

33-5-51{(d) Reckless operation of personal watercraft $150

33-5-51(e) Person under the age of 12 operating a personal $25
watercraft

33-5-51(f) Giving permission to operate personal $25

watercraft in violation of § 33-5-51

33-5-51 (g} Towing person by personal watercraft without $25
proper rearview mirror



33-5-59 Failure to have certification in possession $50
33-5-64 (b) Making false affidavit to obtain duplicate $50

certificate
33-5-66(a) Operating vessel without a license $100
33-5-66 (b) Permitting to operate vessel without operator

license or unaccompanied if required $100
33-5-66(d) Concealing or withholding material fact in

application/renewal for boater license $50
33-5-69 Failure to require person under 8 years of age

to wear personal floatation device $100
33-5-70(a) Reckless operation $150
33~5-70 (b) Careless operation $100
33-5-71 Operating a vessel with obstructed view $50
33-5-72(a) Operating a vessel without emergency-shutoff switch $50
33-5-72 (b} Operating a vessel without emergency-shutoff switch

attached $50
33-5-73 Exceeding épeed zone (idle speed zone, no wake) $50
33-5-74 Mooring or fastening vessel to, damaging or altering

navigation marker, etc. $50
33-5-75(3) (8) Unauthorized use of vessel $100
33-5-75(k) (6) Incompetent to operate a vessel $50
33-5-75(k} (7) Fraudulent use of boater certification $50
33-5-77 Failure to follow rules regarding horsepower $50
33-6A-6 Failure to have marine-sanitation-device

inspection decal $75



220-6-.02 (1) (b) Rented/leased vessels, lease or rental $50
agreement not on board

220-6-.03 No decal on vessel or permitting use of unregistered
vessel $50
220-6-.03(1) (a) Registration numbers not placed correctly
(size or color) on vessel $25
220-6-.03(1) (d} No identification number and no current year $50

decal on vessel

220-6-.07(1) Failing to comply with water traffic "rules of $50
___________________ e
220-6-.07(14) Creating hazardous wake $50
%29:?—_9? i No sound-producing device $50
220-6-.08(1) Oper?ting vessel with improper signal devices $50
229—6—_09(%) i Operating boat without proper lights $50
220-6-.10(1) Operating vessel with improper fire $50

extinguisher or no fire extinguisher

220-6-.11(1) Operating boat with insufficient personal $75
flotation devices

220-6-.11(1) (b) Operating vessel of 16 feet or more without

type IV personal floatation devices $50
220-6-.15 Operating vessel over carrying capacity $50
220-6-.18(1) Operating or permitting operation of vessel $75

towing person without proper personal
flotation device

220-6-.18(2) Water skiing without proper personal flotation $75
device

220-6-.19(4) Failure to comply with restrictive signs $50

220-6-.20(1) Failure to wear personal flotation device $75

within 800 feet of dam

220-6-.21(1) Permitting a person under age 12 to operate a $50
vessel



220-6-.22(1) Operating vessel with no flame arrestor or $50
backfire trap on carburetor

220-6-.23(1) Operating vessel with excessive noise level $50
(86 decibels)

220-6-.26 Towing skier without mirror on personal watercraft $25
220-6-.27 Fleeing or attempting to elude a marine police officer $150
220-6-.55 Permit for houseboats, vessels of large size,

and vessels with certain speed ratings for use

on specified lakes $50
MARINE RESQURCES Offense Scheduled Fine

Code Section or
Regulation No.:

220-3-.01(2) Taking more than one gallon of shrimp in a bait area $50
220-3-.01(3) Catching shrimp in closed waters $600
220-3-.01(5) Washing shrimp trawl in closed area $50
220-3-.01(7) (A) Dragging live-bait boat for more than 20 minutes $250_
220-3-.01(7) (B) Shrimping by trawl that exceeds 50' $500
220-3-.01(10) Dragging seine/trawl/net on oyster reef $250
220-3- O%f%) ) Taking oysterf_from public reef_ft nig?t ________ f%??_—_
220-3~ O%(B) ) Transpoifi?g ?Zsters at nighE L L -___“—_f%§9___
220-3-.02(9) Taking more than 190 oysters (noncomT?rcifi) B __f??___—
IO | See 0 cweeemic 2,000
2203 Gl ner for commercial purposes without a permit | _P2/0%%
220-3-.03(2) No roe—muliet endorsement $2,000



220-3-.03(4) Failure to display net placard $50

220-3-.03(5) Illegal mesh for mullet Oct. 24-Dec. 31 $250
229:3—_03(?1(Ai Using il%egal mesh net _$2?9 )
229:3—;93(f1£A1 ?OSSffsing gill net in closed rivers (areas) $250
22?:%—_93(?1(B1 €055fssi?g gill net in closed rivers $250
220-3-.03(7) (A) (1) Using net in closed area of Gulf of Mexico $500

220-3-.03(7) (A) (2) Possessing gill net in Gulf of Mexico

___________ during closed hours $250
229—3—.03(7)(A)(3) Netting in a closed area (Gulf of Mexico) $500
229—3—.03(7)(A)(4) Using gill net on closed holidays (Gulf of Mexico) $500
%%9:?:_??£jlfélff)_?fiT? r?cre?tio? gill net in Gulf of Mexico $250
229:3—_93(?1(Ai(7) Using illegal mesh in Gulf of Mexico $250
220-3-.03(7) (B) Using illegal mesh net in Gulf of Mexico $250
220-3-.03(8) (A) Using illegal mesh seine B __§2?9___
22073 D3N (B)  Teimg seime to Eake et et e M S
220-3-.03(10) Possessing or using gill net greater tha? BO_T?S??f__“igég__
220-3-.03(11) Using set net south of the Intercocastal Waterway

in Bon Secour Bay f%??__
220-3-.03(12) Using gill net in closed area (Dauphin Island/

alee Bay) ?f??__
220-3-.03(13) Using gill nef ~ closed area $500

220-3-.03(14) Using gill net within 300' of a pier $500



220-3-.03(14) Using recreational net more than 300' from shore $100

220-3-.03(15) Using improperly marked gill net $100
220-3-.03(16) Unattended gill/trammel net $250
220-3-.03(17) Snagging or casting net for mullet in rivers or

Theodore Industrial Canal $100
220-3-.03(18) Possessing more than 25 mullet caught by

cast net/snagging $100

220-3-.03(19) (A) Using or possessing more than one recreational
net at a time $100

220-3~.03(19) (B) Possessing more than one fish box of fish with

recreational net $100
220-3-.03(19) (C) Untagged recreational net $50
220-3-.03(20) Possessing gamefish in conjunction with the
use or possession of a gill net $250
220-3-.03(21) Gill net with no floats $250
220-3-.04(2) Tying to a marker placed by marine-resources
division $50
220-3-.04(4) Overnight mooring at ramp or pier $50
220-3-.04(5) Loading or unloading construction equipment at boat
landing $50
220-3~.04(6) Improperly parking in access areas $50
220-3~.04(7) Littering in access areas $50
220-3-.04(8) Diécarding seafood less than 500' from shore inside
waters $100
220-3-.04(9) Discarding dead seafood into creek, bayou, river,
or stream $100

220-3-.12(1) Possessing red fish/speckled sea trout for sale $250



220-3-.15 Possessing over the limit of oysters $100
220-3-.15 Taking oysters before or after legal hours $100
220-3~-.24 (A7) P?ssessing oysters without tags $100
220-3-.24(B) Possessing empty oyster sacks with tags attached $50
9-12-67
220-3-.25 Commercial taking of red snapper during

closed season $250
220-3-.26 Transporting reef material during closed times $5,000
220-3-.27 Commercial taking of king mackerel fish during

closed season $250
220-3-.30(1) Possessing illegal fish - over bag limit . $100
229—3— 30(2) Possessing undersize fish $100 B
220-3-.30(3) Using more than five hooks $100
220-3-.30(4) Possessing fish taken illegally in another

jurisdiction $100

220-3-.30(5) No federal permit to land fish $100
220-3-.31(1) P?fsessi?g undersized bluf crab _flOO
220:3— 3%(2) Possessing crab container - without Tirkings B _$100 )
229:3— 3%(6) (A) UnTilflfeSlfomm‘frcial_crab trf? :_r_lc_D blj?s_/ ______________ ff?‘f-__
220-3- 31£6)(B) Crab vessel not marﬁed _______________ ?}??__~
220-3-.31(7) Crabbing between sunset and one hour before sunrise $100

220-3-.31(8) Setting a crab trap within 300' of a marked channel $100



220-3-.31(10) Recreational crab trap with no orange bouy/no "R" $50
220-3-.31(13) Crabbing without a license $100
9-12-124
229—3— 32(1) Using purfe seine for illegal species B ) $500
220-3-.32(2) (A7) _?sin? purfe seine during closed seas?n B ) $500
220:?: ?%EZ)E?) _Using purse seine in a c%osed area $500 B
220-3-.33(1) Harassing marine mammals/turtles B flOO B
220-3-.33(2) Taking or possessing marine saltwater turtles $100
220-3-.34 Using crab traps in the Mobile Delta $100
229—3— 35(A) Failure to report —_seafood flOO .
229—3* %5(8) Incomplete trip tickets . $100
220-3-.35(G) No "fish" inscription - vehicle $50
220-3-.36 Using a gill net in_Old River . f??? B
220-3-.37 Commercial fishing for sharks during closed f?ff??___ f%?O B
220-3~-.37(Rn) Commercial harvesting of sharks north of
T Y S
220-3-.40 Oyster culling and facki?g violati?n _____f%??___
220-3-.46 L _f?ss?fsin? red snapper - closed_feffif _____________ f}?? B
220-3-.49 Taking live bait in closed area $250



220-3-.60 Taking pompano with gill net during closed season $250

229:%:_?% _________ Ufi?g gi%l neE illega%iy_i? LiEtle Lagoon $250_
220-3-.71 Taking oysters from closed reefs in Portersville Bay $100
220-3-.77 Blood baiting for sharks $50
220-3-.78(1) Violating federal laws or regulations in
e S
9-11-53.1 Fishing without saltwater license (resident) $50
9-11-53:5 ) Fishing without saltwater trip license (rfsident) $50 )
9-11-55.2 . Fishing without saltwater license (nonresident) $100
9-11-94.1 No tarpon tag $100
9—%2—33 Unculled oysters $100
9—32—36 Tfking oysters by use of mechanical devices at night $250
9-12-54.1 No bait dealers' license $250
9—}2—54 3 Using an uninspected live-bait boat $%?O__
9-12-54.3 Failing to display "live bait" on boat in
e e P2
9-12-54.4 Over-limit baiE_fhriTg ___________________ f%??_—
9-12-54.4 Using oversize bait trawl ?%?9__
9—32—54 4 Possessi??;TOf? th??_o?e_??skei_of bfit s?fiTE ———————— f%??n_
9-12-54.4 Selling dead bait shrimp in packages that exceed
L O B P20
9-12-54.5 Catching more than five gallons of shrimp per

person per day =~ recreational $100



9-12-54.5 Shrimping in closed waters - recreational $100

9-12-54.6 Shrimping in bait area during closed times . $199__
9-12-61 Buying, selling, or possessing undersized oysters $100
9-12-67 Improperly sacked oysters ) $100 i
9-12-82 Oystering without a license ) ____flOO )
9-12-87 Dredging oysters without a license L fi??
?:12—93 Shrimping without a license $100
9~12-94 Failure to have oystering/shrimping license

in possession $50
9-12-95 Failure to have commercial party-boat license $300
9-12-111 Gill net longer than 2400 $250
9-12-113 Commercial gill net without permit $2,000
9-12-113(a) (1) a No hook-and-line license $100
9-12-113(a) (1) c No seine permit $2,000
?:lZ—lEffdz B Using T?re than ?ne gill met - commercial f%?? )
9-12-113 (e) Using or possessing unmarked gill net $250
?:1%:EE2£1) _____ POSf?ffi?g nge fish Yith gill net $500_
9~-12-113.1 Selling, buying, trading, or bartering saltwater
. O e e
9-12-115 Seafood dealers -- not reporting $100
9-12-115.1 Commercial finfish not landed in Alabama

or reported $100

9~-12-116 Refusal to be inspected $100



9-12-122 Commercial shrimp trawling in closed waters $600
9-12-123 Using gill net without a license - recreational $100
9-12-124 Crabbing without a license $100
8-12-125 No seafood dealers' license $1,000
9-12-125 Purchasing seafood from unlicensed fishermen $250
9-12-150 No reef permit $5,000
TITLE 13A OFFENSES: Offense Scheduled
Code Section: Fine
13A-7-29(a) (4) Criminal littering $250 (1%
Offense)
13A-8-61 Removal of shopping carts $100
13A-8-62 Abandonment of shopping carts $100
13A-8-121 Theft of cable TV services $200
13A-9-17(a) Unlawfully using slugs $100
13A-10-6(a) Refusing to assist in fire control $100
132-11-9(a) Loitering $50
13A-11-222(a) Unlawfully refusing to yield party line $50
13A-11-223(a) Falsely requesting use of party line for $50
emergency
13A-11-224 Storing gunpowder in city or town $100
FEDERAL MOTOR Offense Scheduled
CARRIER SAFETY Fine

REGULATIONS:



Regulation No.:

49 C.F.R.:
I. Mechanical Defects
393.11 Failing to equip vehicle with required lights $50
: and reflectors

393.19(a) Failing to equip vehicle with turn signals $25

393.24 (b) Failing to equip bus, truck, or truck-tractor $25
with two headlamps

393.25(f) Failing to equip vehicle with operative stop $25
lamps

393.30 Failing to cover storage battery $50

393.33 Failing to place electrical wires properly $25

393.42 (a) Failing to equip vehicle with required brakes $25

393.45(a) (4) Failing to secure brake hose or tubing $25
against chafing, kinking, or other
mechanical damage

393.46(b) Failing to prevent leaks, constrictions, or $25
other defects in brake hose or tubing
connections

393.47 Failing to equip vehicle with adequate brake $25
linings

393.48 (b) Failing to equip vehicle with operative $50
brakes (i.e., devices to use when brakes do
not work)

393.51(a) Failing to equip brake system with warning $25
device

393.52(a) (1) Failing to have proper braking force $50

393.60(a) Failing to conform to glazing windshield $50
requirements

393.65(b) Failing to place fuel system in right place $50

393.65(c) Failing to securely attach fuel tank to motor $50
vehicle

393.67(c) (1) (1iii) Failing to equip fuel tank with securely $25
fitted cap

393.67(d) (2) Failing to equip vehicle with fuel tank free $50
of leaks

393.70(b) (1) (i) Failing to mount lower half of fifth wheel $50
securely on a truck-tractor or converter
dolly

393.70(b) (1) (ii) Failing to mount upper half of fifth wheel $50



securely on a truck-tractor or converter

dolly

393.75(a) Failing to place proper tires on vehicle $50

393.78(a) Failing to place proper windshield wipers on $50
vehicle

393.80(a) Failing to place proper rearview mirrors on $50
vehicle

393.83(a) Operating vehicle with improperly located $50
exhaust system

383.83(c) Gasoline-powered bus with exhaust discharging $50
more than 6" forward of the rearmost part
of bus

393.83(d) (1) Diesel-powered bus with exhaust discharging $50
more than 15" forward of the rearmost part
of the bus

393.83 (e) Truck or truck-tractor with exhaust not $50
discharging at rear of cab

393.86(a) Failing to install bumpers or devices for $50
rear-end protection

393.87 Failing to place red flag on projecting loads $50

393.92 Failing to post emergency door signs in bus $25

393.93(a) (1) Failing to equip vehicle with seat belt for $25
driver (buses)

393.93(b) (1) Failing to equip vehicle with seat belt for $25
driver (trucks/truck-trailers)

393.95(a) Failing to equip vehicle with emergency $50
equipment '

393.100¢(a) Failing to secure cargo properly $50

393.106(a) (1) Failing to provide headerboard for vehicle $25

172.205(a) Offering, transporting, transferring, or $200
delivering hazardous waste without proper
manifest

172.205(c) Failing to have hazardous-waste manifest copy $150

dated and signed by carrier and shipper

172.332(a) Failing to display ID number on placard in $150
conformance with requirements

172.332(b) Failing to display orange ID panel in $150
conformance with requirements

172.336(b) Failing to properly display ID number for $200



hazardous material in hazardous class not
requiring placards

172.502(a) (1) Placarding a vehicle that is not transporting $50
a hazardous material

173.33(a) (1) Transporting hazardous material in $500
unauthorized cargo tank

177.801 Transporting or accepting shipment of $500
hazardous material not in proper condition
for transportation

177.817(a) Transporting shipment of hazardous material $150
without properly prepared shipping papers

177.817 (e) Failing to maintain proper accessibility of $150
shipping papers

177.823(a) Failing to placard motor vehicle $200

177.870(b) Transporting unauthorized hazardous material $500

in a passenger-carrying vehicle

391.11(b) (5) Using driver without current valid operator's $100
license/permit
391.41 (a) Failure of driver to possess medical $25

examiner's certificate

392.3 Driver operating vehicle while ill or $50
fatigued

392.9(a) (1) Driver operating vehicle with an unsafe load $50

392.14 Driver operating vehicle without caution $50

during bad weather

395.3(a) (1) Requiring or permitting driver to drive more $100
than 10 hours following 8 consecutive hours
off duty

395.3(a) (2) Requiring or permitting driver to drive after $100

having been on duty 15 hours following 8
consecutive hours off duty

395.3(b) (1) Driving after having been on duty 60 hours in $100
7 consecutive days

395.3(b) (2) Driving after having been on duty 70 hours in $100



8 consecutive days

395.8(a) Driver's record of duty status required $50
395.13(c) (1) (i) Allowing a driver out of service to operate $50
vehicle

396.7(a) Operating a vehicle that is in an unsafe $50
condition

396.11(c) (1) Failing to certify that repairs were made or $10
were not necessary

396.11 Failing to carry copy of last vehicle- S$10
inspection report on vehicle to the power
unit

396.13(c) Failing to require driver to sign vehicle- $10

inspection report

397.19(a) (1) Failing to furnish copy of Part 397 Rules to $100
driver of vehicle containing Division 1.1,
1.2, or 1.3 explosive materials

REVENUE VIOLATIONS: Code Offense Scheduled
Section: Fine
40-12-198 (b) Gasoline-transport-document violation $500
40-12-198 (m) Improper untaxed dyed fuel use $1,000
40~-12-260(a) Having license plates issued to another
vehicle $50
40-12-260{a) (3) Failure of new owner of vehicle to

surrender a license plate not removed
by the previous owner on a recently
purchased/acquired vehicle $200
40-12-260(a) {(4)a. Failure of new owner of vehicle to
purchase/re-register/transfer the
license plate within 20 calendar days
of purchase or acquisition of vehicle $200

40-12-260(b) (1) No current and valid Alabama motor-

vehicle registration receipt in vehicle $50
40~12-260(b) (3) Failure/refusal to present current and

valid Alabama motor-vehicle registration

receipt to law-enforcement officer $200

40-12-262 (b) No required current and valid Alabama
license plate or registration document
for vehicle registered pursuant to the



International Registration Plan (I.R.P.) $200

40-12-262(e) No I.R.P. cab card/no temporary trip permit 5200
40-12-262(f) Altered I.R.P. cab card/altered

temporary trip permit $200
40-12-264(c) Unlawful use of dealer license plates

by dealers on rental or lease vehicles,
tow trucks, service trucks, and other
service vehicles $200
40-12-264 (c) Unlawful use of dealer license plates
by other than dealership owners and
full-time salespersons $200
40-12-264(c) Unlawful use of dealer license plates
by prospective purchaser in excess of
72 hours $200

40-12-265(c) Operating a vehicle with an improper

license plate/validation stamp/improper

display of plate or validation stamp $200
40-12~-290(e) (1) Unlawful use of vintage-vehicle

license plate $200
40-12-290(e) (1) Unlawful use of antique license plate or

tag issued prior to October 1, 1996 $200
40-17-150(q) Having no fuel-identification marker

displayed; no copy of International

Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) license in

vehicle; improperly displayed IFTA

license; no IFTA fuel decals (2)

required/displayed $50

40-17-150(h) Invalid trip permit $50
PUBLIC SERVICE Offense Scheduled Fine

COMMISSION

MOTOR

CARRIER:

Code Section

or

Regulation

No. :

Public Service Commission Violations

37-3-10 Hauling for hire--No APSC $100~--First Offense

authority--Common carrier $500--Subsequent
Offense(s)



37-3-12 Violation of APSC certificate $100--First Offense
$500--Subsequent
Offense (s)

37-3-13 Hauling for hire--No APSC $100-~-First Offense
authority--Contract carrier $500--Subsequent
Offense(s)

37-3-13 Violation of APSC permit $100--First Offense
$500--Subsequent
Offense(s)
37-3-15 Unlicensed broker $100--First Offense
$500--Subsequent
Offense(s)
37-3-25(c) Aiding and abetting in a violation $100-~-First Offense
of Motor Carrier Act $500--Subsequent
Offense(s)
37-3-25(q) Failure to maintain or falsification $100-~First Offense
of a required record $500--Subsequent

Offense(s)

3.3(A) Spot lease decal not displayed $25

s3m No spot lease decal s
ssm No trip lease on/in venicle s25
5.3(8)  Improper spot lease decal  sas
53 Trip lease decal removed s25
5.1 Improper lettering——taxi s25
3.22(2)  Inproper lettering--Intrastate only truck/bus s25
3.22(0) (1) Improper lettering—-Interstate only truck/bus 25
3.22(b) (15)  Improper lettering--ICC exempt truck/bus  $25
3.22(c)  Improper lettering--ICC & APSC authorized s25

truck/bus

3216 No UCR registration  si0
5.216(h)  Failure to maintain UCR records sso
3.216(i)  Failure to maintain/provide vehicle records  $50
g1 No shipping document s25
§.32  Inproper shipping documents s25
6.4 Failure to preserve shipping documents 25
12(a)  Improper lease s25



12(d) Failure to prepare and maintain safety inspection

report on leased vehicle $25
12(e)  Inmproper identification of leased vehicle 825
208 Failure to remove identification after termimation
of lease $25
17.000 Failure to comply with safety regulations 850
17.22  Failure to comply with operating rules ss0
17.2¢  Possession and/or use of controlled substance s100
17.25 Possession and/or use of intoxicating liquor  $100
17.26(0)  Speeding  ss0
17.29 Unsecured load ss0
17.200) Corrective lens/hearing aid s50
17.53(2) Exceeding maximum driving hours, driver  $100
17.530) Exceeding maximum on-duty howrs s100
17.58(a)  Improper logook  sa
17.58(2) No logbook s
17.5908) Out-of-service (36 hours late)  $s0
1760 Unsafe operations (cumulative)  §100
176500 Operating out-of-service vehicle  $100
1.0 Hazardous material, marking s100
1711108 No driver's license s100
17141000 No medical card s25
17.210 Failure to stop at railroad crossing s25
17.216 No seat belts s
17.220 Unattended vehicle, brakes s25
17.261(a) Unauthorized driver  sw0
1726160 Unauthorized passemger  s25
17.266 Carbon monoxide presence  $50
17.311  Improper lamps, reflectors—-small vehicles s25
17.312 Inproper lamps, reflectors--large buses and trucks 525
17.313  Inproper lamps, reflectors--truck-tractors s25

17.314 Improper lamps, reflectors--large semi-trailers



and full trailers $25

17.315 Improper lamps, reflectors--small semi-trailers

and full trailers $25
17.316  Inproper lamps, reflectors--pole trailers 525
17.317  Inmproper lamps, reflectors--combinations in

driveaway-towaway operations $25
17.318  Improper lamps on motor vehicles with projecting |

loads $25
17.342  Inproper brakes (all axles equipped)  $25
17,303 No breakaway s25
17351 No low air warning venicle  s25
17.365(f)  Improper fuel lines s25
17.376  Improper tires s
17.378(a)  Improper windshield (cracked) ss0
17.379  Inproper windshield wipers s25
17.380  Improper mirrors  sa5
17.381  Improper hozn s25
17382 Improper speedometer s25
17,383 No flag on end of load  s25
17385 No mudflaps on truck 850
17.385 Missing or improper mudflap onm truck s25
17.390(8)  Improper, inoperative fire extinguisher $50 |
17.300(8) No spare fuses  s;s
e Shifting, sifting, or falling cargo 850
17.301(8) No tarpaulin sso
.20 No APSC registration or state stamp s25
19728 Onauthorized driver, employee, or agent s50
.72 Other unauthorized driver  sloo
49 CFR 376.11 No lease e
19 CFR 376.12  Improper lease s25



ALCOHOLIC BEV- Offense Scheduled
ERAGE CONTROL Fine
(ABC) BOARD
OFFENSES:

Code Section:

28-1-3.1(b) Possession of alcoholic beverages purchased on $250
a military base in excess of the legal limit

28-3-19 Refusal of inspection $200

28~3-20 Viclation of ABC Board rules and regulations $250

28-3A-25(a) (3) Unlawful sale or delivery of alcoholic $500 (1=t
beverages to a minor by any person, licensee, Offense)

or the board; unlawful permission by licensee
to allow minor to drink, consume, or possess
any alcoholic beverage on the licensee's

premises
28~3A-25(a) (6) Refusal by licensee, servants, agents, or $300 (1=t
employees to allow board, its employees, or Offense)

any duly commissioned law-enforcement officer
the right to completely inspect the entire
licensed premises during business hours

28-3A-25(a) (13) Unlawful delivery of alcoholic beverages in $200 (1=t
vehicles not marked as prescribed by law by Offense)
any manufacturer, importer, or wholesaler,
servant, agent, or employee of the same

28-3A-25(a) (14) Unlawful sale of alcoholic beverages within a $250 (1%t
dry county, except in a wet municipality Offense)
located in a dry county

28~3A-25(a) (15) Unlawful sale of alcoholic beverages without a $250 (1°t
license to do so, or possession of alcoholic Offense)
beverages for sale without a license

28-3RA-25(a) (20) Unlawful sale, consumption, etc., of alcoholic $250
beverages on Sunday, after the hour of 2 a.m.,
except where authorized by law

28-3A-25(a) (21) Knowing permission of sale, consumption, etc., $250
of alcoholic beverages on Sunday after the
hour of 2 a.m. by proprietor, keeper, or
operator of a public place, except where
authorized by law

28-4-20 Unlawful sale, offer for sale, possession, $250 (1s*
barter, exchange, etc., of prohibited Offense)
beverages

28-4-200 Unlawful possession of tax-paid alcoholic $250

beverages in a motor vehicle or residence
over the quantity allowed by law in a dry
county



13A-12-3 Unlawful sale, barter, exchange, etc., of any $25
cigarettes, cigarette tobacco, cigarette
paper, or any substitute for either of them to

a minor

28-11-8 Unlawful sale of any tobacco or tobacco $250 (1°t
products without first obtaining a permit to Offense)
do so

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF Offense Scheduled Fine

PUBLIC HEALTH:

Code Section:

3-7A-12 Refusal to comply with guarantine order $100

for dog or cat issued by rabies officer
or health officer

3-7A-12 Refusing to produce for immunization any $100
animal for which anti-rabies vaccine is
recognized and recommended

22-17A-8 Operation of tattoo facility without $100
license

22-20-5/22-2-14 Operation of food establishment without $500
permit

22-26-6 Onsite sewage-system failure (positive $500

outlet observed or direct discharge of
sewage from residence)

22-26-6 Installation of onsite sewage system $500
without valid permit

22-37A-7 Performance of lead-hazard reduction $500
activities without Safe State
accreditation (individual)

22-37A-7 Performance of lead-hazard reduction $500
activities without certification (firm)

22-37A-7 Performing lead-hazard reduction $500
activities without lead-project permit

SMOKING IN A PUBLIC PLACE: Offense Scheduled Fine
Code Section:



The cost of a nonresident license for hunting deer and wild turkey on
management areas is $15 plus the cost of the hunting license. See n.2
(Section 9-11-45(a), as amended by Act No. 2000-742, Ala. Acts 2000).

‘The following are the costs of hunting licenses for nonresidents 16 years
of age or older:

Small game (except deer and turkey)--annual: $75 (Section 9-11-46,
as amended by Act No. 2000-742); trip: $45 (10-day trip); $30 (3-day
trip) (Section 9-11-48, as amended by Act No. 2000-742).

All game--annual: $250 (Section 9-11-47, as amended by Act No.
2000-742); trip: $125 (1l0-day trip); $75 (3-day trip) (Section 9-11-49,
as amended by Act No. 2000-742).

*Bag limits are specifically provided in other regulations.



