
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
August 25, 2009

ORDER

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court of Alabama is authorized by §
150, Constitution of Alabama 1901 (Off. Recomp.) (formerly
Amend. No. 328, § 6.11, Ala. Const. 1901), to make and
promulgate rules governing the administration of all courts
and rules governing practice and procedure in all courts;

THEREFORE, IT IS CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that the clerks
of the Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, and the
Court of Civil Appeals are authorized to charge the following
filing fees:

Direct appeal $200.00

Petition for
permission to appeal
pursuant to Rule 5,
Alabama Rules of
Appellate Procedure $150.00

Petition for a
writ of certiorari:
civil $150.00

Petition for a 
writ of certiorari:
criminal $150.00

Petition for an
extraordinary writ
pursuant to Rule 21,
Alabama Rules of 
Appellate Procedure $150.00

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Rule 35A of the Alabama Rules
of Appellate Procedure shall be amended in accordance with
this order and as reflected in the appendix to this order.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this schedule of fees is
effective October 1, 2009.



IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following note from the
reporter of decisions be added to follow Rule 35A:

"Note from the reporter of decisions: The order
amending Rule 35A, Alabama Rules of Appellate
Procedure, effective October 1, 2009, is published
in that volume of Alabama Reporter that contains
Alabama cases from     So. 3d."

Cobb, C.J., and Lyons, Woodall, Stuart, Smith, Bolin,
Parker, Murdock, and Shaw, JJ., concur.



APPENDIX

Alabama Rules of Appellate Procedure
Rule 35A. Docket Fees

(a) Docket Fees in Noncriminal Cases. In a noncriminal
case a docket fee shall be paid to the clerk of the
appropriate appellate court, unless otherwise provided. Docket
fees shall be as follows:

(1) For an appeal in a civil case, the docket fee shall
be $200.00, to be paid when the notice of appeal is filed.
For a proceeding for review by certiorari in a worker's
compensation case as provided by Rule 3 and a proceeding for
review by certiorari of a decision or judgment of a trial
court in a case where review by appeal is not provided for or
of a decision of a board or agency where review by petition in
the appropriate appellate court is provided by law, the docket
fee shall be $150.00, to be paid when the petition for review
is filed. Provided, however, for an appeal taken following
permission given pursuant to Rule 5, the docket fee shall be
$150.00.

(2) For a petition for a writ of mandamus or prohibition
or other extraordinary writ, as provided for in Rule 21, the
docket fee shall be $150.00, to be paid when the petition is
filed.

(3) For a petition for a writ of certiorari to the Court
of Civil Appeals, as provided for in Rule 39, the docket fee
shall be $150.00, to be paid when the petition is filed.

(4) For a petition for permission to appeal, filed
pursuant to Rule 5, the docket fee shall be $150.00, to be
paid when the petition is filed. If permission to appeal is
granted, an additional $50.00 docket fee shall be paid within
fourteen (14) days of the order granting permission to appeal.
See paragraph (1) above and Rule 5(c).

Appeals may be docketed without payment of the docket fee
if a motion for leave to proceed in forma pauperis has been
granted pursuant to the provisions of Rule 24(a).

In regard to proceedings other than appeals, if a party
desires to proceed in forma pauperis but no provision has been



made for that party to so proceed, the party shall file with
the appellate court a motion for leave to proceed in forma
pauperis. That motion shall correspond to the motion
prescribed in Form 15 and shall be accompanied by an affidavit
corresponding to that prescribed in Form 15 (and that
affidavit shall include answers to the questions set out in
Form 15).

The docket fees herein prescribed shall be in lieu of all
other court costs in the particular proceeding before the
appellate court, unless the court orders otherwise, and may be
taxed as costs, as provided by Rule 35.

(b) Docket Fees in Criminal Cases. Unless an appellant
proceeded before the trial court in forma pauperis and that
status has not since been revoked, or unless the appellant is
granted permission to proceed on appeal in forma pauperis
either by the trial court or by the Court of Criminal Appeals,
the appellant shall pay a $200.00 docket fee to prosecute his
or her appeal in the Court of Criminal Appeals; provided,
however, that that fee shall be waived in any appeal in which
the State is the appellant. The docket fee prescribed herein
shall be in lieu of all other fees and costs prescribed by law
for appeals to the Court of Criminal Appeals and shall be paid
to the clerk of the trial court at the time the appellant
files his or her notice of appeal. The clerk of the trial
court shall then remit the docket fee to the clerk of the
Court of Criminal Appeals as provided in Rule 3(d)(2). After
the docket fee has been paid, in whole or in part, the Court
of Criminal Appeals shall not be required to refund any
portion thereof because the appellant, on whose behalf it was
paid, is subsequently granted in forma pauperis status or
because the appellant's appeal is subsequently dismissed
without a decision on the merits.

Upon receipt of the trial court clerk's transmittal of an
appellant's notice of appeal, the clerk of the Court of
Criminal Appeals shall docket the appeal regardless of whether
the transmittal is accompanied by the docket fee prescribed
herein. After docketing an appeal in a case in which it
appears that the docket fee is due, in whole or in part, the
clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals shall issue a
deficiency notice advising the appellant that the appeal will
be dismissed with prejudice unless the appellant has, within
the time prescribed in said deficiency notice, either paid the
docket fee in full or sought leave to proceed on appeal in



forma pauperis as authorized in Rule 24(a). If, within
fourteen (14) days of the date of issuance of the deficiency
notice, the appellant has not paid the docket fee in full or
sought leave to proceed on appeal in forma pauperis or
otherwise shown that the docket fee is inapplicable, the
appeal shall be dismissed with prejudice and may not
thereafter be reinstated except on motion for good cause shown
made within 14 days from the date of the certificate of
dismissal.


	Page 1
	Page 2
	Page 3
	Page 4
	Page 5

