
Alabama Rules of Appellate Procedure 
 

Rule 35.  
 

Costs.  
 

(a) Against whom taxed. Except as otherwise provided by law, if an appeal 
is dismissed, costs shall be taxed against the appellant, unless otherwise agreed 
by the parties or ordered by the court; if a judgment is affirmed, costs shall be 
taxed against the appellant unless otherwise ordered; if a judgment is reversed, 
costs shall be taxed against the appellee unless otherwise ordered; if a judgment 
is affirmed or reversed in part, or is vacated, costs shall be taxed only as ordered 
by the court. 
 

(b) Costs for and against the State of Alabama. In cases involving the 
State of Alabama or an agency or officer thereof, if an award of costs against the 
State of Alabama is authorized by law, costs shall be awarded in accordance 
with the provisions of subdivision (a); otherwise, costs shall not be awarded for or 
against the State of Alabama. 
 

(c) Costs of copies of records. The costs of producing the necessary 
copies of the clerk’s record and the reporter’s transcript shall be taxable in the 
trial court. A party who desires those costs to be taxed shall state the costs in an 
itemized and verified bill of costs, which the party shall file with the clerk of the 
trial court, with proof of service, within 14 days (2 weeks) after the issuance of 
the certificate of judgment pursuant to Rule 41. 
 
[Amended 8-27-91, eff. 10-1-91; Amended 11-19-96, eff. 1-1-97; Amended eff. 8-
1-2000.] 
 
 

Committee Comments 
 

Rule 35 does not change the fundamental proposition that costs are taxed 
in one of two ways: (1) in the event of a clear-cut decision, costs are taxed 
against the loser; (2) in the event of any other type of decision, costs are taxed 
as ordered by the court. Subdivision (c) is in accord with former Alabama practice 
of taxing the costs of preparing the original record and transcript of testimony in 
the trial court. Under this rule, costs of producing the appendix are taxable as 
costs in the appellate court and would appear as part of the certificate of 
judgment. The purpose of the 14-day rule is to permit the clerk to include costs in 
his certificate of judgment which issues on the eighteenth day in accordance with 
Rule 41. As noted under Rule 41, the purpose of the issuance of the certificate 
on the eighteenth day following the rendering of the decision is to allow for the 
expiration of the 14 days permitted for application for rehearing. 
 



The rule provides for the taxing of the costs of preparing the appendix 
which corresponds to the former practice of taxing the cost of the transcript, but 
does not provide for taxing the costs of briefs. Some state systems and the 
federal system permit the taxing of the cost of preparing and printing briefs, but 
this has not been included. It is thought that briefs will typically be produced 
under these rules by photocopy or mimeograph, and not by commercial printing, 
and that these ordinary costs of briefs should be borne by each party. 
 

The term “mandate” has been eliminated to conform with Alabama 
practice. 
 

Alabama presently has few statutes permitting the taxing of costs against 
the State, but since the State is a party in very little civil litigation of a private 
nature, this is not a major item. The advisory committee felt that it would require 
an act of the Legislature to permit costs to be taxed against the State in ordinary 
civil or criminal litigation as is done with 28 U.S.C. § 2412. On taxing costs 
against the State, see e.g., Code of Ala., § 18-1-31; State v. Jefferson County 
Bd. of Education, 282 Ala. 303, 211 So.2d 146. Also, costs may not be taxed in 
favor of the State except as provided by statute. 
 

Court Comment to Amendment 
Effective October 1, 1991 

 
This amendment omitted references to the appendix system, in the record. 

 
Court Comment to Amendment to Rule 35(c) 

Effective January 1, 1997 
 

The amendment to Rule 35(c) removes gender specific pronouns. 
 

Court Comment to Amendment to Rule 35 
Effective September 1, 2000 

 
The amendment makes it clear that the bill of costs is to be filed with the 

clerk of the trial court and changes the date for filing that bill of costs to within 14 
days after the issuance of the certificate of judgment rather than after the 
issuance of an opinion or a ruling on an application for rehearing. 
 

The amendment also deletes subsection (d), which required the clerk to 
prepare an itemized statement of costs taxed in the appellate court and to insert 
that statement into the certificate of judgment. 
 

Note from the reporter of decisions: The order amending Rule 35, 
effective September 1, 2000, is published in that volume of Alabama Reporter 
that contains Alabama cases from 753 So.2d. 
 


