
Rules for Mandatory Continuing Legal Education 
 

Rule 3.  
 

CLE Requirement. 
 

Each attorney subject to these rules shall complete a minimum of 12 hours of 

approved continuing legal education ("CLE") annually, 1 hour of which shall be on the 

subject of ethics or professionalism. 

This requirement may be satisfied either by attendance at an ASB-approved 

course or by completion of any other ASB-approved CLE activity. 

 
[Adopted 3-20-1981; Amended 2-22-1983; Amended eff. 1-9-2004; Amended 2-26-
2012, eff. 1-1-2013; Amended eff. 2-20-2018.] 
 

REGULATIONS 
 

3.1. A minimum of 6 credit hours of the 12 credit hours required annually 

must be earned through attendance at live ASB-approved programs. 

3.2. This requirement may be satisfied through teaching an approved CLE 

activity.  Presentations supported by thorough, high quality, readable, 

and carefully prepared written materials qualify for MCLE credit on the 

basis of six credits for each hour of presentation.  Presentations 

accompanied by brief outlines, or not accompanied by substantial 

written materials, shall not satisfy this requirement.  When a 

presentation is made by a panel, the credit will be divided equally 

among the panel members, unless the MCLE Commission is advised 

otherwise. 

3.3. Repeat presentations shall satisfy this requirement to the extent of 

one-half the credits available for an initial presentation, provided each 

lawyer shall receive at least one credit for each hour of individual 

presentation or service on a panel. 

3.4. This requirement may be satisfied through teaching a course in an 

ABA- or AALS-approved law school or any other law school approved 

by the MCLE Commission.  The MCLE Commission will award six 

hours of MCLE credit for each hour of academic credit awarded by the 

law school for the course.  For purposes of these rules, Miles College 

of Law and Birmingham School of Law are considered approved 

schools. 



3.5. This requirement may be satisfied by authoring a significant research 

article that is accepted for publication in a national law journal.  

Whether an article is significant will be determined by the executive 

director.  The MCLE Commission will award 12 hours of MCLE credit 

upon publication of the article. 

3.6. This requirement may be satisfied through service as a bar examiner in 

Alabama or in any sister state.  The MCLE Commission shall award 12 

hours of MCLE credit annually for such service during a given year. 

3.7. This requirement may be satisfied through formal enrollment and 

education of a postgraduate nature, either for credit or by audit, in an 

accredited law school.  The MCLE Commission will award one credit 

for each credit hour so earned. 

3.8. The MCLE Commission shall award two hours of MCLE credit to 
attorneys who attend the annual business meeting of the ASB. 

 
3.9 This requirement may be satisfied through the provision of pro bono 

legal assistance exclusively through an approved pro bono provider. 

For purposes of this rule, an approved pro bono provider is a not-for-

profit legal-aid organization, bar, or court sponsoring a pro bono 

program that is approved by the Alabama State Bar as set forth in Rule 

6.6 of the Alabama Rules of Professional Conduct.  The MCLE 

Commission shall award 1 hour of MCLE credit for every 6 hours of pro 

bono work completed, for a maximum of 3 MCLE credits in a 12-month 

period beginning October 1 and ending September 30. If less than 6 

hours of pro bono work are completed between October 1 and 

September 30 of the reporting year, no MCLE credit shall be awarded. 

On October 1 of each year, the approved pro bono providers shall 

report the name of each attorney who met those requirements for the 

preceding year to the MCLE Commission, along with the number of 

credits awarded each attorney. Self-reporting shall not be permitted 

under this provision. Credit earned through this provision may not be 

used to complete a deficiency plan or to satisfy requirements for 

reinstatement, reactivation, or readmission. 

 
[Amended 9-20-2018.] 
 

Note from the reporter of decisions: The order adopting Regulation 2.7 to Rule 
2 and amending Rule 2.C.2., Rule 3, Rule 5.B., Rule 6.A., and Rule 6.B., effective 
January 9, 2004, is published in that volume of Alabama Reporter that contains 



Alabama cases from 862 So.2d. 
 
Note from the reporter of decisions: The order amending the Alabama State 

Bar Rules for Mandatory Continuing Legal Education is published in that volume of 
Alabama Reporter that contains Alabama cases from 84 So. 3d. 
 

Note from the reporter of decisions: The order amending Regulation 2.7 and 
Regulation 4.1 and adopting Regulation 3.9 effective September 20, 2018, is published 
in that volume of Alabama Reporter that contains Alabama cases from ___ So. 3d. 
 


