IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
January 19, 2017

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that Rule I, Rule II, Rule III, Rule V,
Rule VI(B), and Appendix, Rules Governing Admission to the
Alabama State Bar, be amended to read in accordance with
Appendices A, B, C, D, E, and F to this order;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that these amendments are effective
immediately;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following note from the
reporter of decisions be added to follow Rule I, Rule II, Rule
ITI, Rule V, Rule VI(B), and Appendix:

"Note from the reporter of decisions: The order
amending Rule I, Rule II, Rule III, Rule V, Rule
VI (B), and Appendix, effective January 19, 2017, is
published in that volume of Alabama Reporter that
contains Alabama cases from _ So. 3d."

Stuart, Bolin, Parker, Murdock, Shaw, Main, and Bryan,
JJ., concur.

Wise, J., concurs as to Rule I, Rule III, and Rule VI{(B)
and dissents as to Rule II, Rule V, and Appendix.

{, Julia Jordan Weller, as Clerk of the Supreme Court
of Alabama, do hereby certify that the foregoing is
a full, true and correct copy of the instrument(s)
herewith set out as same appear(s) of record in said

Court, +h
Witness my hand this 17_ day O'JL’“"“-"#. 20..L
s ypudonsT .
Clerk, Stpremé Court of Alabama



APPENDIX A

Rule I. Registration of Intent to Apply for Admission to the
Alabama State Bar.

A. Registration of Law Students and Others Seeking
Admission to the Alabama State Bar. Every person seeking to
apply for admission to the Alabama State Bar shall, within 60
days following the commencement of the study of law in any law
school, register with the Secretary ("the Secretary") of the
Board of Commissioners of the Alabama State Bar ("the Board"
or "the Board of Commissioners") by completing and filing the
online registration application and such other papers as may
from time to time be reasonably required by the Board. No fee
shall be required if the registration application 1s filed
within the first 60 days following the commencement of the
study of law. If, however, the registration application is
filed after 60 days, such application shall be accompanied by
an appropriate fee of:

(1) $50.00 if filed after 60 days but on or before
the 180th day;

(2) $100.00 if filed after 180 days but on or before
the 390th day:;

(3) $250.00 if filed after 390 days.

The deadline date for filing the registration application
shall be determined wusing the official date for the
commencement of study announced by the registrant's law
school. The registrant shall be responsible for submitting,
as a part of the registration application, certified
verification of that date upon the form supplied by the Board.
Any fee required with a registration application filed
pursuant to this rule shall be nonrefundable.

B. Committee on Character and Fitness. The Committee on
Character and Fitness ("the Committee") (see Rule V) shall
promptly conduct an 1initial review of the registration
application for matters bearing on the registrant's character
and fitness, including, but not limited to, alcohol or drug
addiction or abuse, criminal history, financial
responsibility, and mental-health issues. Thereafter, the
Committee shall conduct an investigation or otherwise inquire
into and determine the qualifications, character, and fitness



of every registrant who applies for admission to practice law
in the State of Alabama and may request the personal
appearance of any registrant at such reasonable time and place
as the Committee may prescribe.

If the Committee, during the course of an investigation
of the registrant, concludes that a complete set of his or her
fingerprints would be of substantial assistance in the
investigation, the Committee may direct the registrant to
submit a complete set of his or her fingerprints. The failure
of the registrant to submit, upon request, a complete set of
his or her fingerprints, to fully and accurately comply with
any reasonable request to produce documents or to appear
personally before the Committee, or to fully and accurately
provide such other information as reasonably may be requested
by the Committee shall be a sufficient ground to deny approval
of the registration.

If the Committee 1is reasonably satisfied that the
registrant possesses good moral character, has completed the
prelegal education required by these Rules (see Rule IV.A and
B), and is fit to practice law in the State of Alabama in all
other respects, it shall approve the registration, and the
Secretary shall thereupon issue to the registrant a
certificate of registration and cause a record thereof to be
kept in the Secretary's office. If the registrant is found
deficient in any of the aforementioned qualifications, the
certificate of registration shall not be issued until and
unless the Committee is satisfied that the registrant has
overcome the deficiency.

A majority of the Committee may at any time and place, if
in meeting assembled, act for the Committee, with the power of
examination herein granted the Committee, regardless of when
the registration application was filed with the Secretary.

In cases where a registrant does not file the
registration application within 390 days following the
commencement of the study of law and the degree of
investigation required makes immediate review or resolution of
the registration impractical, the Committee may in its
discretion defer its review and investigation of the
registration to allow a reasonable opportunity to thoroughly
investigate the registrant's character and fitness.

From a ruling of the Committee declining to approve the



application for registration, an appeal shall lie to the
Disciplinary Board of the Alabama State Bar (which, when
acting in such capacity, shall be referred to as the
"Character and Fitness Appeal Board"), if notice of appeal is
filed with the Secretary and a copy of the notice is also
filed with the Disciplinary Clerk of the Alabama State Bar
within 30 days after the applicant has been notified of the
action of the Committee. Such appeal shall be heard, de novo,
within 30 days after the filing of the notice of appeal or at
such time as agreed upon by stipulation between the appellant
and the General Counsel of the Alabama State Bar.

~C. Registration Not an Application for Admission. The
registration application filed by a registrant shall not be
deemed an application for admission to the Alabama State Bar.



APPENDIX B

Rule II. Application for Admission to the Alabama State Bar.

A. Applications. Applications for admission to the
Alabama State Bar, whether filed as a registrant under Rule I
or as an applicant under this rule, are continuing in nature
and must give the information sought correctly and fully as of
the date that the applicant is sworn in as a member of the
Alabama State Bar. To that end, every applicant or registrant
shall immediately inform the Secretary of any change or
discovered error in the requested information that may occur
between the time that information i1s furnished to the Alabama

State Bar and the date of the applicant's admission.

The Board may require that all the information furnished
by given under oath.

As a condition for admission into the bar examination,
every applicant shall state under oath when filing an
application for admission that all information in every
application and in all amendments thereto previously submitted
is true and complete.

B. Residency Requirements.
(1) Applicants who:

(a) were residents of the State of Alabama at the
time the application was submitted, and

(b) have neither applied, nor been admitted, to the
bar of another state,

shall pay the amount prescribed in item (1) of the Fee
Schedule (see Appendix).

(2) All other applicants, unless otherwise provided for
by these Rules, shall pay the applicable amount prescribed in
item (2) of the Fee Schedule (see Appendix).

Each applicant who qualifies under this subsection shall
be required to undergo a separate character and fitness
investigation conducted by the National Conference of Bar
Examiners (NCBE) and to pay the costs associated therewith.



(3) The cost of a transcript or any record or document
reasonably required by the Board in the conduct of an
investigation or inquiry into the character and fitness of an
applicant or a registrant shall be paid by such applicant or
registrant.

C. Filing Deadlines.

(1) All applicants for admission by examination shall
electronically submit their completed applications not later
than October 1 preceding the February examination and not
later than February 1 preceding the July examination.

(2) The Alabama State Bar will acknowledge receipt of all
applications filed on or before the deadlines prescribed in
subsection (1) of this section. Included in this
acknowledgment will be the deadline for receipt of any paper
components of the application that must be submitted in
original hard-copy format.

(3) Any paper components of the application are deemed
timely filed if they are (a) received on or before the
deadline given 1in accordance with subsection (2) of this
section; or (b) postmarked on or before the deadline given in
accordance with subsection (2) of this section and received
with seven (7) days of the postmark date.

D. Supporting Affidavits. In support of said
application the applicant shall cause to be sent directly to
the Secretary affidavits by three attorneys in good standing
who have for five years been admitted to practice law in
Alabama or in the state of the applicant's residency by the
highest court of the applicant's residence. These affidavits
must be to the effect that each affiant is acquainted with the
applicant and should state the extent and duration of the
association, the frequency of contact, the opportunity of
observing and knowing the demeanor, habits, character,
associates of and conduct of the applicant, the type of such
associates, and generally the background, standing and
position in life of the applicant, and that the applicant has
a good character and reputation where the applicant resides,
and enjoys the confidence and respect of the general public.
Each such affidavit shall state whether affiant's appraisal of
the applicant 1s based upon personal knowledge or upon
inquiry.



E. Reexamination. Every applicant who is qualified and
desires to repeat any part of the academic portion (see Rule
VI(B) of the bar examination shall file a Reapplication for
Admission to the Alabama State Bar. The reapplication shall
be accompanied by the amount prescribed in item (3) of the Fee
Schedule (see Appendix). The reapplication shall be filed in
the office of the Secretary within the deadlines as specified
under the provisions of this rule as they pertain to the
examination such applicant desires to take. In those
instances where the running of the deadline under this rule
occurs before notification is given of the failure of any part
of the examination, thus precluding compliance with the
deadline by unsuccessful examinees, the deadline shall extend
for a period of 10 days from the date of the release of
results of the examination.

F. Postponement of Examination. Applicants seeking to
postpone their submission to the Alabama State Bar examination
shall be permitted to do so upon payment of a fee of $100.00
to the Alabama State Bar. A written notice of postponement
and the $100.00 fee must be received by the Alabama State Bar
at least seven days 1in advance of the commencement of the
examination.

Any applicant who has not made an appropriate
postponement at least seven days 1n advance of the
commencement of the examination shall be deemed to have
forfeited the entire examination fee if the applicant fails to
take the examination for which application has been made.

Any postponement made in accordance with the provisions
of this section shall be effective only until the examination
immediately following the examination from which the applicant
is postponing. All applicants who have postponed their
submission to examination may file a reapplication for the
next examination. Any applicant who has postponed his or her
submission to examination and who does not reapply and sit for
the examination immediately following the postponed
examination shall be deemed to have forfeited the entire
examination fee.

G. Application Fees Nonrefundable. Any fee required
with an application filed pursuant to these Rules shall be
nonrefundable.



APPENDIX C

Rule III. Persons Entitled to Admission Without Examination.

A. Reciprocity. No person shall be admitted to the
Alabama State Bar without examination except as follows:

(1) An applicant who meets the requirements of (a)
through (k) of this rule may, without examination, be admitted
to the practice of law in Alabama. The applicant shall

(a) have been admitted to practice law in another
state, territory, or the District of Columbia;

(b) hold a first professional degree of law (J.D. or
L.L.B.) from a law school that was on the approved list
of the American Bar Association or the Assoclation of
American Law Schools at the time the degree was
conferred;

(c) have been primarily engaged 1in the active
practice of law in one or more states, territories, or
the District of Columbia for five of the six years
immediately preceding the date upon which the application
is filed;

(d) establish that the state, territory, or the
District of Columbia in which the applicant has or had
his or her principal place of business for the practice
of law, or in which he or she was or is domiciled and
admitted before seeking admission here, would allow
attorneys from Alabama a similar accommodation as set
forth in this rule;

(e) establish that the applicant is currently a
member in good standing in all jurisdictions where he or
she is admitted;

(f) establish that the applicant is not currently
subject to lawyer discipline or the subject of a pending
disciplinary matter in any other jurisdiction;

(g) establish that the applicant possesses the
character and fitness to practice law as determined by
the Committee on Character and Fitness under Rule V of
these Rules;



(h) establish that the applicant has not, within the
10 years prior to making application, taken and failed
the Alabama Bar examination;

(1) be a permanent resident of the State of Alabama
at the time of application or certify his or her
intention to conduct the primary practice of law in
Alabama and to maintain an office for the practice of law
in this State. The "primary practice of law" shall mean
at least 75% of the time devoted to the practice of law
will be conducted in this State;

(7) have taken and achieved a score of 75 or better
on the MultiState Professional Responsibility Examination
(MPRE); and

(k) have paid the appropriate fee as prescribed in
item (4) of the Fee Schedule (see Appendix) attached to
these Rules.

(2) For the purposes of this rule, the "active practice
of law" under subsection A(l) (c) shall include the following
activities, 1f performed in a Jjurisdiction in which the
applicant is admitted, or is performed in a jurisdiction that
affirmatively permits such activity by a lawyer not admitted
to practice; however, in no event shall activities listed
under A(2) (e) and (f) that were performed within Alabama in
advance of Bar admission here be accepted toward the
durational requirement:

(a) Representation of one or more clients in the
practice of law;

(b) Service as a lawyer with a local, state,
territorial, or federal agency, 1including military
service;

(c) Teaching law at a law school approved by the
Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions
to the Bar of the American Bar Association;

(d) Service as a Jjudge 1in a federal, state,
territorial, or local court of record;

(e) Service as judicial law clerk; or



(f) Service as corporate counsel.

(3) For the purposes of this rule, the active practice of
law shall not include work that, as undertaken, constituted
the unauthorized practice of law in the jurisdiction in which
it was performed or in the jurisdiction in which the clients
receiving the unauthorized services were located.

(4) Teachers in a law school situated in this State and
accredited by the American Bar Association or American
Association of Law Schools, who have been full-time teachers
at said law school for a period of not less than three
consecutive calendar years prior to the date of their
application and who satisfy the requirements of paragraphs
A(l)(a), (b), (d)-(k) may be admitted to the practice of law
in Alabama. All such applicants shall give proof of the
qualifications prescribed herein, which shall be certified to
by the dean of the law school at which they teach.

(5) If the applicant is found to satisfy all the
requirements of this rule, the Secretary shall certify such
fact to the Board of Commissioners and to the clerk of the
Alabama Supreme Court.

B. Application and Fees. The Secretary is authorized
and empowered to prepare the necessary forms of application
and affidavits to effectuate the purpose of this rule. Those
who seek admission under provisions of this rule must make
application for admission to practice law, as other applicants
are required to do by these Rules and any associated
regulations. Any fee required with an application filed
pursuant to this rule shall be nonrefundable.



APPENDIX D

Rule V. Committee on Character and Fitness.

A. Establishment of Committee. For the purpose of
determining the fitness, character, and qualifications of
applicants who desire to be admitted to.the practice of law in
the State of Alabama there is hereby created the Committee on
Character and Fitness of the Alabama State Bar. The Committee
on Character and Fitness may be divided into as many panels as
may be necessary to carry out the duties of the Committee.
Each panel of the Committee on Character and Fitness shall be
composed of three lawyers appointed by the president of the
Alabama State Bar and shall be known as a "Committee on
Character and Fitness."

B. Duties of Committee. The Committee on Character and
Fitness 1is hereby charged with the power, duty, and
responsibility of determining the age, the character and
fitness, and the educational qualifications of each applicant
for admission to the Bar of Alabama. To that end, the
Committee may make such investigation as it sees fit, may
require the production before it of any affidavits deemed by
it to have any bearing upon these questions, and may require
the applicant to appear in person before it and be by it
examined. The vote of a majority of the members of a
Committee on Character and Fitness, if in meeting assembled,
shall constitute the action of the Committee. The Secretary
is directed to secure and have printed, at the expense of the
Board, appropriate application blanks and other forms for the
purpose of the Committee on Character and Fitness and to
furnish such blanks to applicants and to other persons upon
request.

The burden is on the applicant to establish to the
reasonable satisfaction of a majority of the Committee on
Character and Fitness that the applicant possesses such
character and qualifications as to justify the applicant's
admission to the Bar and qualify the applicant to perform the
duties of an attorney and counselor at law.

When, but not until, a majority of the Committee 1is
reasonably satisfied as to the applicant's character and
fitness, and that the applicant is of the proper age and
possesses the educational qualifications now or hereafter
prescribed as provided by law, the Committee shall endorse its



approval on the application, and the application and all
papers accompanying it shall remain on file in the Secretary's
office.

From a ruling of the Committee on Character and Fitness
declining to approve the application for registration as a law
student or declining to approve the application to take the
State Bar Examination or making any finding or ruling adverse
to any applicant, an appeal shall lie to the Disciplinary
Board of the Alabama State Bar (which, when acting in such
capacity, shall be referred to as the "Character and Fitness
Appeal Board"), if notice of appeal 1is filed with the
Secretary within 30 days after the applicant has been notified
of the action of the Committee. Such appeal shall be heard,
de novo, within 30 days after the filing of the notice of
appeal or at such time as agreed upon by stipulation between
the appellant and the General Counsel of the Alabama State
Bar. An appeal from a ruling of the Character and Fitness
Appeal Board to the Supreme Court of Alabama shall be
perfected by filing a notice of appeal with the clerk of the
Supreme Court of Alabama within 30 days after the decision of
the Character and Fitness Appeal Board. The record on appeal
shall be prepared in accordance with the provisions of Rule
12(f), Rules of Disciplinary Procedure of the Alabama State
Bar.

The members of the Committee on Character and Fitness may
separately and without assembling in meeting consider any
application that is required by these Rules to be submitted to
such Committee, together with the data submitted in support of
such application, and may endorse upon such application their
approval or disapproval thereof; unanimous action of all the
members of the Committee, so taken, shall constitute wvalid
action of the Committee, but if such action is not unanimous,
the Committee, or a majority thereof, shall further consider
and act upon such application in a meeting assembled.

If the applicant whose application has been so approved
is entitled thereby to take the examination, the Secretary
shall issue to such applicant a certificate substantially as
follows:



The Committee on Character and Fitness of the
Board of Commissioners of the Alabama State Bar does
hereby certify, after investigation and examination
made by it, that it is reasonably satisfied that

is entitled to take the examination for
admission to the Bar administered on to be
held in Montgomery, at

COMMITTEE ON CHARACTER AND FITNESS OF THE ALABAMA
STATE BAR

BY:

Secretary, Board of Commissioners of
the State Bar

Such certification shall be presented and verified before
such applicant enters upon the examination, and the Board of
Bar Examiners shall not examine any applicant by whom such
certificate has not Dbeen presented and verified. The
Secretary, upon issuing or refusing to 1ssue the said
certificate, shall preserve in his or her office a record of
the fact that such certificate was or was not issued and the
date of such action, and shall preserve in his or her office
said application with the papers attached thereto, and other
records in connection with the said application, all of which
shall be kept on file until the examination 1is completed,
report made thereon, and pending application finally disposed
of. If an applicant is not admitted to the practice of law,
the application and all other papers in connection therewith
shall be kept on file in the Secretary's office for reference
in connection with any future application for admission to the
Bar, or for investigation and examination of the record by any
person entitled thereto.

C. Determination of Committee and Disposition of Fees.
Notwithstanding any other provision of these Rules, an
applicant whose application is denied by the Committee on
Character and Fitness and who does not prevail on appeal of
such denial shall forfeit all fees paid in conjunction with
the filing of said application.



APPENDIX E

Rule VI(B). Bar Examination.
A. Bar Examination Subjects.

(1) Academic Bar Examination. Beginning with the Bar
Examination given in July 2014, the Academic Bar Examination
shall consist of the Uniform Bar Examination ("the UBE"). The
UBE is prepared by the National Conference of Bar Examiners
and includes the Multistate Essay Examination ("the MEE"), the
Multistate Performance Test ("the MPT"), and the Multistate
Bar Examination ("the MBE").

(2) Legal Ethics Examination. The Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination ("the MPRE," see Rule
VI (B)E) prepared by the National Conference of Bar Examiners
shall be used as the examination on Legal Ethics and
Professional Responsibility.

An applicant must pass both the Academic Bar Examination
and the Legal Ethics Examination to be certified as a
successful candidate.

(3) Course on Alabama Law. Before being admitted to the
practice of law in Alabama, all applicants shall complete a
course on Alabama law, the content and delivery of which shall
be determined by the Bocard of Bar Examiners.

B. Preparing, Conducting, and Grading Examinations.

(1) Preparing Examinations. The MBE, the MEE, and the
MPT will be prepared by the National Conference of Bar
Examiners, which shall determine the contents of those
examinations and test.

(2) Conducting Examinations. The Board of Bar Examiners
shall have the right, power, and authority tc adopt rules
consistent with the laws of the State of Alabama or orders of
the Supreme Court or the Board of Bar Commissioners governing
the control, methods, and details of conducting examinations.

The Secretary of the Alabama State Bar, at the time an
applicant is certified to the Board of Bar Examiners under
these Rules, shall issue to the applicant a card containing a
perscnal-identification number, the purpose and use of which



shall be carefully explained to the applicant. The Secretary
shall preserve a duplicate of that number in the Secretary's
office. When taking the MEE and the MPT, the applicant may
not sign his or her name to or upon any paper or documents, or
identify his or her examination answers other than by that
number or by such method as 1is required by the National
Conference of Bar Examiners to identify UBE scores, and is
forbidden to disclose that number to any member of the Board
or to any other person. If any applicant violates this
requirement in any particular, the Board of Bar Examiners
shall not consider the applicant's examination papers, and if
it be discovered that disclosure of the number was made, the
applicant shall be subject to disciplinary action for deceit
and misrepresentation. This requirement shall again be called
to the attention of the applicant by the Board of Bar
Examiners before the applicant is permitted to begin the
examination.

The express purpose of the immediately preceding
paragraph is to provide a method by which the Board of Bar
Examiners, in passing upon the sufficiency of answers to
questions propounded by it, shall be unacquainted with the
identity of the person whose answers it is passing upon.

(3) Grading Examinations. MEE and MPT questions will
test the applicant's ability to reason logically, to analyze
legal problems accurately, to demonstrate a knowledge of the
fundamental principles of law, to be able to apply those
principles, and to perform basic legal tasks. The grade of
the paper shall be measured by the reasoning power shown as
well as by the correctness or incorrectness of the answers.
Answers to MEE questions shall be analyzed and graded using
the model answers provided by the National Conference of Bar
Examiners and according to general principles of law. MEE and
MPT questions will be scored by the Board of Bar Examiners.

Using the personal-identification numbers assigned to
identify the respective applicants, the Board of Bar Examiners
shall certify final grades to the Secretary of the Alabama
State Bar no later than April 15 following a February
examination and September 15 following a July examination.

The Secretary shall make a permanent record in the
Secretary's office of the grades attained by each examinee in
each subject and shall inform each examinee whether he or she
has passed or failed the examination.



Each examinee will be furnished the following information
at the time examination results are released: his or her MBE
scaled score, total scaled score on written examinations (MEE
and MPT), total UBE scaled score, and the raw score on each
question on the MEE and the MPT.

Within sixty (60) days after the announcement of the
results, a failing examinee shall be entitled to examine his
or her own papers 1in the State Bar headquarters for the
purpose of ascertaining that grades were transcribed
correctly, and, upon payment of $5.00 per section of the MEE
or the MPT, the examinee shall be entitled to receive a copy
of his or her answer or answers. The UBE questions and model
answers are protected by copyright owned by the National
Conference of Bar Examiners, and examinees should contact the
National Conference of Bar Examiners to obtain copies of
those.

C. Results of Examinations.

(1) Basic Rule. Raw scores on the MEE and the MPT
portions of the UBE shall be weighted so that the MEE is worth
30% and the MPT is worth 20%. The total weighted raw score on
the MEE and the MPT combined shall be scaled to the MBE. The
applicant's scaled score on the MEE and the MPT portions of
the UBE shall be expressed on the MBE range of scores (0-200)
and shall be combined and weighted equally with the applicants
scaled MBE score to determine the examinee's total UBE scaled
score. An examinee who achieves a total UBE score of 260 or
above passes the Academic Bar Examination.

(2) Transfer of MBE Score. An applicant who has taken
and passed a bar examination in another jurisdiction, who has
been admitted to practice in that jurisdiction, and who made
an MBE scaled score 140 or above in that jurisdiction may be
excused from taking the MBE. The transferred MBE score will
be valid for a period of twenty-five (25) months after taking
the MBE on which the transferred score was received. The
applicant's transferred MBE score will be combined with the
applicant's scaled scores on the MEE and the MPT portions of
the UBE according to the basic rule. Applicants who transfer
an MBE score to seek admission in Alabama will not earn a
transferable UBE score that can be used to seek admission in
other jurisdictions.



The applicant shall have the option to take all sections
of the Academic Bar Examination; if the applicant chooses this
option, the score of all sections will be combined under the
basic rule.

(3) Carryover of MBE Scores. An applicant who has taken
and failed the bar examination in Alabama but who made an MBE
scaled score of 140 or above may be excused from taking the
MBE. The MBE scaled score may be carried over to any future
examination for which the examinee is eligible, provided that
the examination is administered within twenty-five (25) months
after the earlier bar examination in which the applicant
scored 140 or above on the MBE was administered, and the MBE
scaled score will be combined with the applicant's scaled
score on the MEE and the MPT portions of the UBE according to
the basic rule. Applicants who carry over an MBE score from
an earlier bar examination to seek admission in Alabama will
not earn a transferable UBE score that can be used to seek
admission in other jurisdictions.

The applicant shall have the option to take all sections
of the Academic Bar Examination; if the applicant chooses this
option, the score of all sections will be combined under the
basic rule.

(4) Carryover of Written Test Score. An applicant who
has taken and failed the bar examination in Alabama, but who
made a scaled score of 140 or above on the MEE and the MPT
portions of the UBE, as determined in accordance with the
basic rule, may be excused from taking those portions of the
bar examination that contribute to the scaled written score on
the MEE and the MPT. The scaled written score may be carried
over for any future bar examination for which the examinee is
eligible, provided that the examination is administered within
twenty-five (25) months after the earlier bar examination in
which the carry-over score was received, and the scaled
written score will be combined with the applicant's MBE score
according to the basic rule. Applicants who carry over a
scaled score on the MEE and the MPT to seek admission in
Alabama will not earn a transferable UBE score that can be
used to seek admission in other jurisdictions.

The applicant shall have the option to take all sections
of the Academic Bar Examination; if the applicant chooses this
option, the score of all sections will be combined under the
basic rule.



(5) Time of Election to Transfer or Carry Over Scores.
Elections regarding the transfer from another jurisdiction of
an MBE score or the carryover of an MBE score or the carryover
of a scaled written score on the MEE and the MPT from a
previous examination taken in Alabama must be made at the time
an application to sit for an examination is filed.

(6) Transfer of UBE Score. An applicant who has taken
the entire UBE 1in a single administration in another
jurisdiction and earned a total UBE scaled score of 260 or
above may transfer his or her UBE score and be excused from
taking the UBE in Alabama. The transferred UBE score will be
valid for a period of no longer than twenty-five (25) months
after the date of administration of the UBE that resulted in
the transferred score.

Applicants seeking admission on the Dbasis of a
transferred UBE score may file an application for admission to
the Alabama State Bar at any time after their UBE score has
been released by the transferring jurisdiction. At the time
of filing such application, the applicant must pay the fee
prescribed in item (5) of the Fee Schedule (see Appendix)
attached to these Rules. No later than the date the
application is filed, such applicants shall request an
official UBE score transcript be sent to the Board of Bar
Examiners by the National Conference of Bar Examiners.

The transferred UBE score must be valid in accordance
with the provisions of this subsection on the date the
applicant may otherwise be certified for admission to the
Alabama State Bar. If the transferred UBE score becomes
invalid on or before said date, then the application for
admission shall be withdrawn, and the applicant shall not be
entitled for admission on such application.

D. Access to Information Regarding the UBE. The Board
of Bar Examiners shall make available to applicants sample and
informational materials that will acquaint applicants with the
general content and format of the MBE, the MEE, and the MPT.
This requirement may be met by routinely distributing to all
applicants the information booklets on these examinations
published by the National Conference of Bar Examiners, and by
advising applicants of the availability, through the National
Conference of Bar Examiners, of sample questions and analyses.
A reasonable fee, to be determined by the Board of Bar
Examiners with the concurrence of the Board of Bar



Commissioners, may be charged to parties outside the routine
distribution who request copies of the materials.

E. The MPRE. Before admission to the Bar, each
applicant must have successfully passed the MPRE. To
successfully complete the MPRE, the applicant must achieve a
scaled score of at least 75, as that score is determined by
the testing authority. Successful completion of the MPRE by
an applicant for admission by examination at any time within
the twenty-five (25) months preceding the Academic Bar
Examination will be accepted. If an applicant has passed the
Academic Bar Examination but has not successfully completed
the MPRE, he or she shall have a period of twenty-five (25)
months from the date of the Academic Bar Examination in which
to successfully complete the MPRE. Applicants who transfer a
UBE score from another jurisdiction must successfully complete
the MPRE no earlier than twelve (12) months before the date of
administration of the UBE in which the transferrable UBE score
was earned.

Completed application materials for testing, as well as
all other correspondence, inquiries, and requests concerning
application materials and the administration and processing of
the MPRE should be directed to the National Conference of Bar
Examiners.

F. Time of Bar Examination. The examination will be
given on Tuesday and Wednesday of that week in February and in
July on which the UBE is administered. The MPT and the MEE
will be on Tuesday, and the MBE on Wednesday.



APPENDIX F

Appendix. Fee Schedule.

$575.00, see Rule II.B{(1l) (in-state residents who
have never made application to any other bar).

$575.00, see Rule II.B(2) (out-of-state citizens of
the United States, any applicant who has previously
made application to another bar, foreign-education
or foreign-practicing-attorney applicants) .
Applicants in this category must undergo a separate
character and fitness investigation performed by
NCRE and pay costs associlated with such
investigation.

$575.00, see Rule II.E (reapplications).

$875.00, see Rule I1I (out-of-state attorneys
qualifying for reciprocity). Applicants in this
category must undergo a separate character and
fitness investigation performed by NCBE and pay
costs associated with such investigation.

$575.00, see Rule VI(B)C(6) (UBE-score <transfer
applicants). Applicants in this category must
undergo a separate character and fitness
investigation performed by NCBE and pay costs
associated with such investigation.



