IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
September 20, 2018

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that Regulation 2.7 and Regulation 4.1,
Rules for Mandatory Continuing Legal Education, be amended to
read in accordance with Appendices A and B, respectively, to
this order;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Regulation 3.9, Rules for
Mandatory Continuing Legal Education, be adopted to read in
accordance with Appendix C to this order;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the amendment of Regulation
2.7 and Regulation 4.1 and the adoption of Regulation 3.9 are
effective immediately;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following note from the
reporter of decisions be added to follow the regulations
following Rule 2, Rule 3, and Rule 4:

"Note from the reporter of decisions: The order
amending Regulation 2.7 and Regulation 4.1 and
adopting Regulation 3.9 effective September 20,
2018, 1s published 1in that volume of Alabama
Reporter that contains Alabama cases from  So.
3d."

Stuart, C.J., and Bolin, Parker, Shaw, Main, Wise, Bryan,
Sellers, and Mendheim, JJ., concur.

Witness my hand this 20th day of September, 2018.

S peione

Clerk, Supreme Court of Alabama
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APPENDIX A

Regulation 2.7

2.7 An attorney who maintains a residence and a principal
office for the practice of law in a state other than Alabama
that requires MCLE and who can demonstrate compliance with the
MCLE requirements of that state is exempt from these rules,
except as provided in Rules 7 and 9. Any attorney claiming
this exemption shall submit an affidavit to the MCLE
Commission, in such form as 1ts executive director shall
prescribe, accompanied by a filing fee of $25.00.



APPENDIX B

Regulation 4.1

4.1 Applications for status as a preapproved sponsor
shall be accompanied by a fee of $350.00.



APPENDIX C

Regulation 3.9

3.9 This requirement may be satisfied through the
provision of pro bono legal assistance exclusively through an
approved pro bono provider. For purpcses of this rule, an
approved pro bono provider 1is a not-for-profit legal-aid
organization, bar, or court sponsoring a pro bono program that
is approved by the Alabama State Bar as set forth in Rule 6.6
of the Alabama Rules of Professional Conduct. The MCLE
Commission shall award 1 hour of MCLE credit for every 6 hours
of pro bono work completed, for a maximum of 3 MCLE credits in
a 12-month period beginning October 1 and ending September 30.
If less than 6 hours of pro bono work are completed between
October 1 and September 30 of the reporting year, no MCLE
credit shall be awarded. On October 1 of each year, the
approved pro bono providers shall report the name of each
attorney who met those requirements for the preceding year to
the MCLE Commission, along with the number of credits awarded
each attorney. Self-reporting shall not be permitted under
this provision. Credit earned through this provision may not
be wused to complete a deficiency plan or to satisfy
requirements for reinstatement, reactivation, or readmission.





